Looking back at Sheffield MPs you elected in years gone by

As the country heads to the polls, we take a look back at the MPs who have served Sheffield in years gone by.

Wednesday, 4th December 2019, 6:00 am
Meg Munn was in office between 2001 and 2015 serving Sheffield Heeley. She was is the first Independent Chair of the Church of England’s National Safeguarding Panel.

The 2019 United Kingdom general election is scheduled to be held on December 12.

It is to be held under the provisions of the Early Parliamentary General Election Act 2019, two and a half years after the previous general election in June 2017.

Here’s the MPs that have been voted in by you in years gone by.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Nick Clegg, Libera Democrat, was the MP for Sheffield Hallam for 12 years and was the Deputy Prime Minister of the United Kingdom from 2010 to 2015 and as Leader of the Liberal Democrats from 2007 to 2015.[
He was the Liberal Democrat Member of Parliament for Sheffield Hallam from the general election of Thursday 1 May 1997 until the dissolution of Parliament on 11 April 2005.He was made a life peer in the 2010 Dissolution Honours
Richard is a British Labour Party politician, who was the Member of Parliament (MP) for Sheffield Central from 1983 to 2010. Caborn was a member of the government for ten years, serving as the Minister of Sport from 2001 to 2007. He was later appointed by Gordon Brown as the Prime Minister's Ambassador for England's 2018 World Cup Bid
Harry was a British Labour Party politician and coal miner. He was the Member of Parliament (MP) for Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough from the May 2015 general election until he died nine months later.
David is a former Labour politician, having represented the Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough constituency for 28 years through to 7 May 2015 when he stepped down at the general election.