World Snooker: 'The Crucible Curse' - Who else has fallen down the years?

The 'Crucible curse' claimed another victim as Stuart Bingham became the 17th first-time world champion to fail to defend his maiden title in Sheffield.

By The Newsroom
Sunday, 17th April 2016, 9:19 am
Stuart Bingham has fallen at the first hurdle
Stuart Bingham has fallen at the first hurdle

Here are the world snooker champions who have fallen short on that mission:

Terry Griffiths (1979 champion): 1980, lost 13-10 to Steve Davis, second round

Cliff Thorburn (1980 champion): 1981, lost 16-10 to Steve Davis, semi-finals

Steve Davis (1981 champion): 1982, lost 10-1 to Tony Knowles, first round

Dennis Taylor (1985 champion): 1986, lost 10-6 to Mike Hallett, first round

Joe Johnson (1986 champion): 1987, lost 18-14 to Steve Davis, final

Stephen Hendry (1990 champion): 1991, lost 13-11 to Steve James, quarter-finals

John Parrott (1991 champion): 1992, lost 13-12 to Alan McManus, quarter-finals

Ken Doherty (1997 champion): 1998, lost 18-12 to John Higgins, final

John Higgins (1998 champion): 1999, lost 17-10 to Mark Williams, semi-finals

Mark Williams (2000 champion): 2001, lost 13-12 to Joe Swail, second round

Ronnie O'Sullivan (2001 champion): 2002, lost 17-13 to Stephen Hendry, semi-finals

Peter Ebdon (2002 champion): 2003, lost 13-12 to Paul Hunter, quarter-finals

Shaun Murphy (2005 champion): 2006, lost 13-7 to Peter Ebdon, quarter-finals

Graeme Dott (2006 champion): 2007, lost 10-7 to Ian McCulloch, first round

Neil Robertson (2010 champion): 2011, lost 10-8 to Judd Trump, first round

Mark Selby (2014 champion): 2015, lost 13-9 to Anthony McGill, second round

Stuart Bingham (2015 champion): 2016, lost 10-9 to Ali Carter, first round