VIDEO: How to disable Snapchat's new 'location sharing' feature

Users are being warned about a new Snapchat feature which is causing concern among parents.

Tuesday, 4th July 2017, 9:22 pm
Updated Tuesday, 18th July 2017, 8:42 am
Snap Map in action. Photo: Snapchat

Snap Maps - which was introduced in a recent update - allows users of the popular messaging app to track each other’s movements in real time, seeing where friends are and what they are doing.

However, parents and safety experts are concerned that pinpointing the locations of users - especially children - could put them at risk.

And TV star Nadia Sawalha has shared a video where her daughter Maddie show how Snap Maps work.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

The Loose Women presenter also describes how to turn off tracking by putting the feature into ‘ghost mode’, so that while other SnapChatters can be seen, the person using the app is ‘invisible’ to others.

Users can decide on first using the app whether they want to make their location visible to all of their friends, a group of connections, or to no-one - 'ghost mode'.

A Snapchat spokesman said: "With Snap Map, location-sharing is off by default for all users and is completely optional. Snapchatters can choose exactly who they want to share their location with, if at all, and can change that setting at any time.