The timings people in Sheffield need to see the Flying Scotsman pass through South Yorkshire

The Flying Scotsman will be passing through South Yorkshire this weekend but when can people in Sheffield see it?

By Dan Windham
Friday, 28th June 2019, 8:33 am
The Flying Scotsman - GLYN KIRK/AFP/Getty Images
The Flying Scotsman - GLYN KIRK/AFP/Getty Images

The iconic Flying Scotsman will be back in South Yorkshire this weekend as it makes its way from London Ealing Broadway to York on Saturday, June 29.

The train leaves London Ealing Broadway at around 6.30am before joining the East Coast Main Line and arriving in York in the early afternoon.

The Flying Scotsman - GLYN KIRK/AFP/Getty Images

Sign up to our daily newsletter

It will then head into South Yorkshire by taking the ‘Old Road’ to Rotherham before continuing through Conisbrough to Doncaster.

The section north from Beighton Junction to Rotherham Masborough on the North Midland Railway is referred to as the ‘Old Road’.

It has been freight-only since July 1954 and serves as a bypass line to keep goods trains away from the congested lines through central Sheffield.

The route goes from Beighton up to Woodhouse Mill and then Treeton, passing the outskirts of Brinsworth and Canklow and then on to Rotherham Masborough.

Timings in South Yorkshire

Chesterfield 11.51am

Tapton Jn 11.54am

Barrow Hill North Jn 12.29pm

Beighton Jn 12.38pm

Masborough Jn 12.47pm

Aldware Jn 12.50pm

Swinton 12.54pm

According to the operator running the journey,, the historic engine will leave London Ealing Broadway at around 6:30am.

A spokesman said: “At Dudding Hill Junction we take the Brent curve and join the Midland Main Line at Cricklewood. We head north and stop at St Albans, Luton, Bedford and Kettering, to pick up further passengers.

"We leave the MML after Kettering and take the former Midland Railway Nottingham direct line. We pass through Corby Station, opened in 2009 to replace the original which was closed in 1966.

“We climb to the famous Harringworth Viaduct, the longest masonry viaduct in Britain. From the end of the viaduct there is a long, stiff climb up to Wing Tunnel and then it is downhill to Manton Junction, and through Rutland’s county town of Oakham.

“Our last stop to pick up passengers is at Melton Mowbray. We continue to Syston Junction and take the sharp right curve to join the MML from Leicester.

“We pass through Loughborough and join the Erewash Valley Line at Trent Junction. After Chesterfield we take the ‘Old Road’ to Rotherham and continue through Conisbrough to Doncaster.

“Here we join the East Coast Main Line and can expect a fast run to York, where we arrive in the early afternoon.”