Thousands of South Yorkshire schoolchildren set to enjoy a day in the snow

Thousands of South Yorkshire children have got the day off school today because of the snow.

Wednesday, 28th February 2018, 9:02 am
Updated Wednesday, 28th February 2018, 9:05 am
Weston Park in Sheffield this morning

In Sheffield Shortbrook Primary School in Westfield, High Hazels Academy in Darnall, Rowan School in Dore, Woolley Wood School in Parson Cross, Mundella School in Norton Lees, Westfield School in Westfield and Valley Park Community Primary School in Gleadless are all closed.

Waterthorpe Nursery and Infant School in Waterthorpe, Mosborough Primary School in Mosborough, Mossbrook School in Norton, Norfolk Park School, Seven Hills School and Heritage Park Community School, all in Norfolk Park are also closed along with Holgate Meadows Community School in Parson Cross.

Forge Valley Community School and Shooters Grove in Stannington, Hartley Brook Primary School in Shiregreen, Newfield School in Norton Lees, Totley Primary School and Totley All Saints in Totley are also closed as are Stocksbridge Junior and Stocksbridge Nursery and Infant School, Stocksbridge.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Bradway Primary School in Bradway, Hinde House Primary and Secondary Schools in Shiregreen, Beighton Nursery and Infant School in Beighton, Meynell Primary School in Parson Cross, Grenoside Primary in Grenoside, Fox Hill Primary School, Fox Hill and the E-Act Pathways Academy in Longley are also closed to pupils.

High Storrs School, Ecclesall, Monteney Primary School in Parson Cross, Fir Vale School Academy Trust in Fir Vale, St John's School in Deepcar and Talbot Specialist School in Norton Lees are also closed today.

A number of schools are to open later, including Southey Green Primary, Windmill Hill Primary School, Mansel Primary, Pye Bank, Chaucer School, Birley Primary, Marcliffe Primary School in Hillsborough and Beck Primary School in Shiregreen.

Rotherham schools closed today include Aston Lodge Primary School, Badsley Moor Junior School, Blackburn Primary School, Broom Valley Community School, Catcliffe Primary School, Dinnington High School, Ferham Primary School, High Greave Infant School,High Greave Junior School,Kelford School, Kimberworth Community Primary School, Kiveton Park Meadows Junior School, Meadow View Primary School, Milton School,Newman School, Rawmarsh Ashwood Primary School, The Rowan Centre, Thorpe Hesley Primary School and Winterhill School.

Barnsley schools not opening today include Athersley North Primary School, Brierley Church of England Voluntary Controlled Primary School, Cawthorne Church of England Voluntary Controlled Primary School, Darton Primary School, Gooseacre Primary Academy, Greenacre School, Highgate Primary Academy,Horizon Community College, Hoyland Common Primary School, Hoyland Springwood Primary School, Hoyland Springwood Primary School, Hoylandswaine Primary School, Milefield Primary School, Millhouse Primary School, Outwood Academy Shafton, Oxspring Primary School, Oxspring Primary School, Silkstone Common Junior and Infant School, Silkstone Primary School, St Helen's Primary Academy, St Michael and All Angels Catholic Primary School, Tankersley St Peter's CofE (Aided) Primary School, The Dearne Advanced Learning Centre, The Hill Primary Academy, Ward Green Primary School, Wombwell Park Street Primary School and Worsbrough Common Primary School.

In Doncaster, the affected schools include Armthorpe Southfield Primary Armthorpe Tranmoor Primary Bawtry Mayflower Primary Bentley High Street Primary Bessacarr Primary Carcroft Primary Coppice School Danum Academy Denaby Main Academy Hayfield Lane Primary Heatherwood School Hooton Pagnell All Saints CofE Primary Kirkby Avenue Primary Lakeside Primary Long Toft Primary Mexborough Highwoods Primary Morley Place Junior Academy New College Doncaster New Pastures Primary School North Ridge Community Norton Infant Norton Junior Owston Park Primary Pennine View Primary Rossington Tornedale Infant School South Axholme Academy St Oswalds CofE Primary St Patrick Catholic Primary St Peters Catholic Primary St Wilfreds Academy Doncaster Stainforth Kirton Lane Primary Stone Hill The Hayfield School Thorne King Edward Tickhill Estfeld Primary.