The countdown to the 2014 local elections begins

editorial image
Have your say

Local election candidates are set to battle it out for 21 seats across the borough, as Doncaster goes to the polls on Thursday.

Matching the number of Labour candidates vying for a place on Doncaster council, the anti-Europe UK Independence Party (UKIP) will field candidates in all 21 of the town’s wards.

This beats the 15 candidates standing for the Conservative Party.

The Trade Union and Socialist Coalition, who have supported Care UK workers in their recent strike action against 35 per cent pay cuts, are standing 11 candidates.

While former Doncaster mayor, Peter Davies’s, newly-formed political party the Doncaster First Independents Party has candidates standing in six of the wards.

Other parties represented are the English Democrats which has seven candidates standing and the Liberal Democrats which has eight. Meanwhile there will be three independents, seven Green Party and one Community group candidate standing.

Candidates will also be battling it out for six seats representing Yorkshire in the European Parliament on Thursday.

Polling stations will be open from 7am until 10pm on Thursday, May 22.

Votes for the council elections will be counted on Friday 23 May with the winning candidates being announced during the day

A full list of candidates is below:


Joanne Allen - English Democrats

John Victor Butterfield - Liberal Democrats

Jase Fawley - Trade Unionists and Socialist Against Cuts

John Mounsey - Labour Party

Ian Stewart - UK Independence Party (UKIP)


Kenneth Allen - Conservative Party

Louise Emery - UK Independence Party (UKIP)

Chris McGuinness - Labour Party

Scott Andrew Pickles - Independent

Joyce Mary Sheppard - Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts

Askern Spa:

Iris Beech - Labour Party

Phyllis Calladine - UK Independence Party (UKIP)

Adrian Jonathan McLeay - Liberal Democrats


Alex Allen - Conservative Party

Andrew Bosmans - Labour Party

Jordan Ingram - Green Party

Steve Shukla - UK Independence Party (UKIP)

Edwin Simpson - Liberal Democrats


Frank Jackson - Labour Party

Julia Lynskey - Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts

Rene Paterson - Liberal Democrats

Eddie Storey - UK Independence Party (UKIP)

Bessacarr and Cantley:

Bernie Aston - UK Independence Party (UKIP)

Barbara Fletcher - Conservative Party

Neil Gethin - Labour Party

Barbara Hewitt - English Democrats

Ali Hurworth - Green Party

Diana Simpson - Liberal Democrats

Richard Walker - Doncaster First Independents Group


Nick Allen - Conservative Party

John King Garner - Independent

David Roy Harrison - UK Independent Party (UKIP)

John McHale - Labour Party

Mal Perkins - Trade Unionists and Socialist Coalition

Conisbrough and Denaby:

Sandra Mary Holland - Labour Party

William Shaw - UK Independence Party (UKIP)

Edenthorpe, Kirk Sandall and Barnby Dun:

Chris Allen - Conservative Party

Greg Beaumont - Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts

Fred Gee - UK Independence Party (UKIP)

Keith Hewitt - English Democrats

David Nevett - Labour Party and Co-operative Party

Edlington and Warmsworth:

John Brennan - English Democrats

Elsie Butler - Labour Party

David Ingram - Green Party

Liz Jones - Conservative Party

Nigel Leslie Jurgens - Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts

Kim Parkinson - UK Independence Party (UKIP)


Mick Andrews - UK Indpendence Party (UKIP)

Marc Bratcher - Doncaster First Independents Group

Tony Bryan - Labour Party

Allan Jones - Conservative Party

David Pratt - Liberal Democrats

Great North Road:

Jack Kelley - UK Independence Party (UKIP)

Stephen Platt - Green Party

Kevin Rodgers - Labour Party and Co-operative Party


Amy Atkinson - Conservative Party

Linda Curran - Labour Party

Mick Glynn - UK Independence Party (UKIP)

Bob Venus - Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts


Frank Lloyd Calladine - UK Independence Party

Ann Gillbert - Green Party

David Holland - Labour Party

Andy Pickering - Working for Mexborough, the forgotten town

Brian Whitmore - English Democrats


Kathleen Margaret Beard - Conservative Party

John Cooke - Independent

John Healy - Labour Party

Dave Matthews - UK Independence Party (UKIP)

Carol Young - English Democrats


David Allen - English Democrats

Nigel Ball - Labour Party

Paul Bissett - UK Independence Party (UKIP)

Bob Gilbert - Green Party

Alan Smith - Conservative Party

Stainforth and Moorends:

Martin Drake - Conservative Party

Barbara Hedley - Labour Party

Mary Jackson - Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts

Mike Overton - UK Independence Party (UKIP)


John Brown - Conservative Party

Mark Houlbrook - Labour Party

Brenda Denise Nixon - Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts

Tina O’Halloran - UK Independence Party

Karen Redmile - The Community Group

Torne Valley:

David Adgar - Liberal Democrats

Eddie Dobbs - Labour Party

Andy Fisher - Green Party

James Vincent Hart - Conservative Party

Ray Mullis - Doncaster First Independents Group

Rebecca Walters - UK Independence Party (UKIP)

Town Moor:

Charles Guy Aston - UK Independence Party (UKIP)

John Brown - Liberal Democrats

Stephen Leslie Cox - Conservative Party

Rob Green - Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts

Jane Kidd - Labour Party


Maurice Field - Conservative Party

Anne Rutherford - UK Independence Party (UKIP)

Gareth Shanks - Doncaster First Independents Group

Dave Shaw - Labour Party