Speedway: Sheffield Tigers pair eye British Final places

Sheffield duo Charles Wright and Kyle Howarth go for British Final places when Owlerton hosts the first semi-final tonight (7.30pm).

Thursday, 10th May 2018, 9:12 am
Updated Thursday, 10th May 2018, 9:16 am
Charles Wright 2

Both Tigers will be expected to make the top-eight cut but they face strong competition in the bid to reach Belle Vue on June 11.

Wright, in particular, has a mouth-watering start to the meeting in Heat 1 when he goes up against sensational British Under-21 Champion Robert Lambert, and Rory Schein – who switched to a British licence last year and finished on the podium in the Final.

Defending Champion Craig Cook is also in the line-up along with former Tigers Josh Auty, Jason Garrity, Nathan Greaves and Adam Roynon – as well as teenage wonderkid Dan Bewley.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

And Wright (pictured), who thrilled fans with some remarkable blasts from the back in last week’s draw with Peterborough, says the move to Sheffield has coincided with a strict new diet and fitness regime which is paying dividends.

He said: “I’ve been training hard, I’ve got better equipment, I’m eating right and I’m just feeling good about myself.

“It feels like I have more responsibility at the moment in the Sheffield team, and obviously we do need another big hitter to be racing. We’ve been without Josh (Bates) so it’s about that fourth heat-leader or second-string really, and then of course having Kyle out last week didn’t help either.

“But for myself, I want nothing more than to put on entertainment for the fans, and I’ll give it 110 per cent every time I’m out on track – that’s what you’ll get from me.”

Meanwhile club captain Howarth made his return to racing at Belle Vue on Monday having missed Tigers’ trip to Glasgow three days earlier.

Howarth scored just three points in a heavy Wolverhampton defeat, but another two days of rest should have him ready for tonight’s contest.

LINE-UP: Charles Wright, Robert Lambert, Rory Schlein, Max Clegg, Danny Ayres, Craig Cook, Jason Garrity, Stefan Nielsen, Carl Wilkinson, Zach Wajtknecht, Nathan Greaves, Adam Roynon, Kyle Howarth, Dan Bewley, Edward Kennett, Josh Auty.