Special constable recruits sworn in

New special constables for Derbyshire police
New special constables for Derbyshire police
Have your say

Thirteen new volunteers are ready for life on the beat as special constables in Derbyshire.

A laboratory assistant, a family support worker and a banker are among the newest group of recruits volunteering their time to police the streets of the county.

The force’s Special Constabulary has welcomed the new officers – Matthew Barratt, Abigail Bowden, Nicola Brooksbank, Adam Chatterton, Joshua Epworth, Billyjoe Fletcher, Daniel Gahagan, Amy Godfrey, Sam Neal, Jo Preston, Tammy Richardson, Joanna Saddington and Joseph Worthy – who were sworn in at an attestation ceremony in front of family, friends and new colleagues.

The seven men and six women, aged between 19 and 40, will volunteer at locations including Chesterfield and the Peak District.

The group come from a variety of backgrounds and professions, such as a family support worker at Derbyshire County Council, a team leader at a bank, two students and a lab assistant.

Assistant Chief Constable Dee Collins welcomed the volunteers to the Special Constabulary at the ceremony, which was held at force headquarters.

She said: “Our special constables have a long history of providing support to the force and in particular giving welcome assistance to communities and to police colleagues. Being a special constable enables each individual to make a difference to communities.”