Six Doncaster councillors give their backing to Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn

A group of Labour councillors in Doncaster have pledged their support for under fire Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn by giving him their backing in a public letter.

Wednesday, 6th July 2016, 4:13 pm
Updated Wednesday, 6th July 2016, 4:22 pm
Jeremy Corbyn with Doncaster Labour MPs Rosie Winterton, Ed Miliband and Caroline Flint.

The six have all added their names to an open letter on a website backing Mr Corbyn who has come under intense pressure to quit from his Labour shadow cabinet colleagues following the UK's vote to leave the European Union.

So far, 348 Labour councillors have signed the letter giving their continued backing to his leadership and slammed the moves against him as “indulgent” and “self-defeating”.

A statement on the KeepCorbyn website said: "This is the latest sign of a grassroots backlash against MPs’ attempts to get rid of Corbyn as leader.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

"The councillors say they are “dismayed” with the MPs’ vote on the leadership, and call on the party to unite behind Corbyn and turn fire on the real enemy, the Tory Party”.

The six Doncaster Council councillors who have signed the letter are Coun Nigel Ball (Conisbrough), Coun Dave Shaw (Town), Coun Charlie Hogarth (Bentley), Coun Neil Gethin (Bessacarr), Coun Eva Hughes (Wheatley Hills and Intake) and Coun John McHale (Town)