Sheffield Stars: Cycle speedway team’s ‘as you were’ committee for 2019 season

Sheffield Stars announced ‘No change’ to the committee for 2019, following the clubs recent AGM.

Tuesday, 5th March 2019, 12:57 pm
Updated Tuesday, 5th March 2019, 1:02 pm
Sheffield Stars Luke Morton treasurer and team manager

Rob Mawhood (Chair), Chris Bingham (Vice Chair), Emily Morton (Secretary) and Luke Morton (Treasurer) all remain in their posts for the coming season. Luke Morton also remains Team Manager, with Rob Mawhood assisting when work commitments allow.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

One enforced change is that of Club Team Captain. Ed Morton (Stars captain since 2017) has had his transfer to the Edinburgh Falcons confirmed, his role now filled by Laura Watson.

The former World Champion and current GB Womens team captain steps up to combine club captain with that of the Northern League Division Two captain.  

Sheffield have been busy upgrading the racing surface for the Graves Centre track. Thirty tonne of shale has been put down, possible thanks to grant aid provided by South Yorkshire Community Foundation.