Rotherham Titans: Caolan Ryan rewarded with start for Nottingham clash

Rotherham Titans' coach Justin Burnell has made significant changes to the side which will take on Nottingham in tomorrow's Championship clash.

Fly half Caolan Ryan, who was signed before last Saturday’s game against Jersey and then came on to kick two conversions to win the match, has been rewarded with a starting place.

Ryan will form a new half back partnership with scrum half Matt Walsh.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Following the changes, last week’s fly half Will Robinson, is dropped to the bench, and scrum half George Tresidder does not feature at all as Matt Dudman is the replacement number nine.

The strength of the Rotherham three-quarters will be improved by the return from a back injury of Will Goodwin who starts at Nottingham wearing the number 15 shirt.

Winger Ben Foley, who scored two late tries in dramatic style to set up Ryan’s conversions against Jersey, not surprisingly keeps his place against Nottingham who are 5th in the Championship, two places above the Titans.

In the pack, Burnell brings in prop Tom Williams instead of the injured Toby Williams (shoulder) and in the second row, Oli Curry joins Toby Salmon instead of Tom Hicks who suffered a head injury last weekend.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The other change in the forwards sees Buster Lawrence starting at number eight as Tom MacDonald becomes one of the replacements.

“What we have to do is to rectify the errors we make during games. What I like about this group is their never-say-die attitude,” says Burnell.

“But we have to learn from our mistakes and to do that the young lads in our squad need time to mature and gain experience of competing at this level.

“If we make mistakes, Nottingham will take advantage ruthlessly. They are a gritty side, they battle hard and are picking up points.”

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

One Rotherham forward in particular will be looking forward to tomorrow’s league game, and that’s flanker Tom Calladine who spent several seasons at Nottingham.

Rotherham Titans: Goodwin, Foley, Owen, Barker, Henry, Ryan, Walsh, Tom Williams, Cole, Rees, Salmon, Curry, Grange, Calladine, Lawrence.

Reps: Graham, Hutchinson, Herriott, Normandale, MacDonald, Dudman, Robinson.