Who can I vote for in May's elections? Full list of candidates standing in Barnsley

All the candidates running in May's local elections in Barnsley have been revealed as polling day approaches.
Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

Barnsley will head to the polls on May 4 to select their council representative.

Labour, Conservatives, and the Liberal Democrats have candidates contesting all 21 wards.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The electorate can select one of their ward representatives for the next four years.

All the candidates running in May's local elections in Barnsley have been revealed as polling day approaches.All the candidates running in May's local elections in Barnsley have been revealed as polling day approaches.
All the candidates running in May's local elections in Barnsley have been revealed as polling day approaches.

Other parties putting candidates forward include Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition, Yorkshire Party, Reform UK, Green Party, and the English Constitution Party.

Some of the council's leaders are among those up for re-election such as cabinet and support members Trevor Cave, Anita Cherryholme, and Jo Newing.

Voters have until 11:59pm on April 17 to register to vote, which can be done on the government’s website here: https://www.gov.uk/register-to-vote

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Voters are now required to bring photographic identification to the polling station, to find out more about that visit: https://www.gov.uk/how-to-vote/photo-id-youll-need


Steve Bullcock - Yorkshire Party

Martin Joseph O'Donoghue - Labour

Ruby Paul - Independent

Catherine Theresa Rogerson - Liberal Democrat

Chris Scarfe - Green

Charlotte Helen Wilkinson - Conservative


Mark Brook - Conservative

Anita Cherryholme - Labour

Ken Smith - Green

Elizabeth Kate Waters - Liberal Democrat


Benjamin Harrison - Conservative

Simon Richard Hulme - Liberal Democrats

Scott Andrew Mckenzie - Reform UK

Trevor Smith - Labour


Steve Hunt - Liberal Democrats

John Miller - Conservative

Teresa Wilcockson - Labour


Kevin Bennett - Liberal Democrats

Simon Biltcliffe - Yorkshire Party

Trevor Raymond Cave - Labour

Bee Lokkit - Conservative

Lee Adrian Long - Green Party


Brian John Evans - Liberal Democrats

Gillian Millner - Conservative

Martin Morrell - Labour

Maxine Spencer - English Constitution Party,England, One Nation

Steve Vajda - Social Democratic Party


Linda Fielding - Liberal Democrats

Rosemary Jackson - Conservative

Dave Jarvis - Social Democratic Party

Abi Moore - Labour

Janus Polenceusz - English Constitution Party,England, One Nation


Sam Christmas - Liberal Democrats

Lee Ogden - Conservative

Nicholas Mark Riggs - Labour


Michael James Davies - Reform UK

Tom Heyes - Green

Glenn Charles Lawrence - Liberal Democrats

Cassie Northwood - Independent

Tim Shepherd - Labour

Michael John Toon - Conservative

Angela Ruth Waller - Trade Unionist and SocialistCoalition


Judy Barnsley - Independent

Peter Gordon Giles - Green

Roger Haw - Conservative

Tracey-Ann Holland - Trade Unionist and SocialistCoalition

Kevin George Williams - Labour

Philip David Wright - Liberal Democrats


Macaulay Larkin - Conservative

Sue Rose - Liberal Democrats

Margaret Sheard - Labour

Rachel Jane Stewart - Independent


Raymond Archer - Independent

Ruth Booker - Labour

Tony Devoy - Yorkshire Party

Kieran Oldfield - Liberal Democrats

Samuel Wilkinson - Conservative


Steve Dankerfield - Trade Unionist and SocialistCoalition

Jo Newing - Labour

Gillian Margaret Nixon - Green

Patrick Dimelow Smith - Liberal Democrats

Charlotte Anne Sykes - Independent

Clive Watkinson - Conservative


Steven Burkinshaw - Conservative

Alex Burnett - Labour

Amanda Griffin - Independent

Rebecca Jean Trotman - Green

Andrew Stephen Waters - Liberal Democrats


Paula Button-Roberts - Independent

Roy Garratt - Conservative

David Sean Greenhough - Liberal Democrats

Frances Helen Avery Nixon - Labour and Co-operative Party

Richard Thomas James Trotman - Green


Karen Fletcher - Trade Unionist and SocialistCoalition

Brian Gregory - Reform UK

Mark Highmouch - Conservative

Trevor Anthony Mayne - Green

Jane Townsend - Labour

Sue Waters - Liberal Democrats

Andrew Simon Wray - Independent


Jennifer Barker - Trade Unionist and SocialistCoalition

Michael Barraclough - Conservative

Neil Fisher - Independent

Jonathan Paul Hood - Liberal Democrats

Pauline Mary McCarthy - Labour


Andrew Millner - Conservative

Matthew Rigden Nicholson - Liberal Democrats

Neil Gareth Wright - Labour


James Robert Kitching - Liberal Democrats

Paul Murray - Labour

Alex Wilkinson - Conservative


Donna Marie Cutts - Reform UK

Brenda Eastwood - Labour

Robert Welton Green - Liberal Democrats

Debbie Toon - Conservative


Sarah Calvert - Liberal Democrats

Sherry Holling - Labour

Jake Lodge - Independent

Katelyn Long - Green

Adrian Thompson - Conservative