The familiar faces who are saying goodbye to Sheffield Council after May election

Sheffield will say goodbye to some well known faces in May when several councillors retire from the role.

Monday, 19th April 2021, 12:18 pm

The councillors had already announced they would not be re-standing in 2020 but the local elections last year were postponed due to Covid so they have continued for an unexpected, extended term.

One of the most prominent councillors to retire is former Council Leader Julie Dore who leaves her Park and Arbourthorne ward. A councillor for 20 years, she led the city for almost a decade.

Coun Jackie Drayton, Cabinet member for children and families, departs after representing Burngreave since 1996.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Pat Midgley, a councillor for 33 years, died last year. Coun David Baker is retiring after 30 years.

The Liberal Democrats say goodbye to well-known figure, Coun David Baker. He has been a councillor for 30 years in South Wortley, Birley and most recently Stannington.

Labour’s Jim Steinke says farewell to his Sharrow ward after serving a total of 11 years while Lewis Dagnall leaves his Gleadless seat after six years.

Also departing after five years is Lib Dem councillor Bob Pullin who vacates the Beauchief and Greenhill ward.

Sheffield already has four empty seats. Councillors Pat Midgley and Peter Rippon both sadly died while still in office last year.

Pat had been one of Sheffield’s longest standing councillors, representing Nether Edge then Manor for 33 years, and had announced her retirement.

Peter had served the city for almost 20 years, representing both Shiregreen and Richmond wards.

Walkley has a vacant seat left by Olivia Blake, who gave up her council duties when she was elected as MP for Sheffield Hallam in the 2019 general election.

And Michelle Cook stepped down from Broomhill and Sharrow Vale in February 2020 due to health reasons.

Two sitting councillors are switching seats. Beighton’s Sophie Wilson will fight Park and Arbourthorne instead and Crookes and Crosspool councillor Anne Murphy will move to stand in Manor.

Finally, some familiar faces will be seeking re-election. These include Labour’s Peter Price, the city’s longest standing councillor with 49 years under his belt; his colleague Tony Damms at 39 years and Lib Dems Roger Davison, also with 39 years service.