General Election 2019: Final poll predicts one of Doncaster's three seats will go to Tories

A final General Election poll has predicted that one of Doncaster’s three seats will be won by the Conservatives today.

Thursday, 12th December 2019, 10:19 am
Updated Tuesday, 17th December 2019, 10:58 am

Polling firm YouGov has predicted the outcome for all of the UK’s seats – and suggests that Don Valley will be won by the Tories when the polls close.

The seat has been a traditional Labour stronghold and has been held by Caroline Flint for Labour since she was first elected in 1997.

She is facing a strong challenge from Conservative Nick Fletcher who YouGov says will win the seat with an estimated 44% of the vote – 8% ahead of Labour on 36%.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Could one of Doncaster's three seats fall to the Tories today?

However, the poll contains margins of error, with the Tories predicted to score anywhere between 36 and 52% with Labour’s share in a range of 29–44%.

It predicts the Brexit Party will finish third, with an estimated 12% share, but this could range between 6% and 18%.

Meanwhile, it has predicted Labour will retain its two other seats in Doncaster.

Rosie Winterton, who is standing in Doncaster Central is being tipped to take 42% of the vote, ahead of the Tories on 32%, although both figures could fluctuate massively to those predicted.

The Brexit Party is tipped to finish in third place in the constituency, ahead of the Liberal Democrats.

In Doncaster North, which is currently held by Ed Miliband, YouGov has tipped that Labour will again emerge triumphant at the ballot box.

Labour’s predicted vote share is 45%, way ahead of the Tories on 24%, although again, the margins of error suggest both parties’ vote share could differ in the final outcome.



Liberal Democrats – Mark Alcock

Conservative – Nick Fletcher

Labour – Caroline Flint

Yorkshire Party – Chris Holmes

Green- Kate Needham

Brexit Party – Paul Whitehurst


Independent -Wendy Bailey

English Democrat - Frank Calladine

Yorkshire Party – Stevie Manion

Labour – Ed Miliband

Liberal Democrats – Joe Otten

Conservative - Katrina Sale

Brexit Party- Andy Stewart

Independent – Eddie Todd

Independent- Neil Wood


Brexit Party – Surjit Duhre

Yorkshire Party - Leon French

Liberal Democrats – Paul Horton

Green – Frank Sheridan

Conservative – Roberto Weeden-Sanz

Labour - Rosie Winterton