Barnsley Council elections 2021 – The key seats to watch

Voters will go to the polls on Thursday, May 6 to elect one councillor in each of the 21 electoral wards.

Tuesday, 20th April 2021, 1:33 pm

32 seats are needed for a majority, and Labour currently holds 48 seats, Lib Dems hold four, Conservatives hold three and Independents hold one.

In Barnsley, there are 21 electoral wards, each represented by three councillors, and a third of seats are up for grabs.

Labour has managed to hold on to all but three seats, and the party has been challenged by a number of parties – Liberal Democrats Barnsley Independents and the Greens have stood a bumper number of candidates this year. .

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Barnsley Council.

Here are the four seats which are most likely to change hands


Six candidates are competing for one seat in Darfield, which is currently held by Trevor Smith of the Democrat and Veteran Party

The Democrat and Veteran Party had a surprise win in 2019, with Labour losing by just 84 votes.

Councillor Smith won the vote from Labour with 750 votes, with Labour’s Dorothy Coates h ot on his heels with 666 votes.

Labour’s Kevin Osborne is hoping to win the seat back, up against candidates from the Liberal Democrats, Conservatives, Barnsley Independents and The For Britain Movement.

Also standing are:

Kevin Bennett – Liberal Democrats Benjamin John Richard Harrison – Conservative Kevin John Howard Osborne – Labour Victoria Semley – Barnsley Independent Group Graham Stringer – The For Britain Movement Kris Tonkinson – Independent

Old Town

To the north of the town centre, Old Town is the most marginal seat in the borough – Labour held on to it by just 22 votes in 2019.

Independent Donald Wood came a close second with 698 votes, just behind Labour’s Jo Newing, who won 720.

No doubt Coun Wood will be hoping to keep his seat when he stands for re election, but will have to beat off competition from Labour, Liberal Democrats, Barnsley Independents, Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition. Greens and Conservatives.

Here is who is standing:

Will Fielding – Liberal Democrats Liam James Hardcastle – Barnsley Independent Group Phil Lofts – Labour Estelle Marie Mageean – Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition Gillian Margaret Nixon – Green Party Clive Watkinson – Conservative Donald Wood – Independent


Labour’s Kevin Williams held the Labour seat with 609 votes in 2019.

However, this was only 119 votes ahead of Peter Doyle of the Democrats and Veterans party, who won 490.

Here is who Kingstone voters can select:

Peter Doyle – Barnsley Independent Group Peter Gordon Giles – Green Party Tracey-Ann Holland – Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition Pooja Ramchandani – Labour Carlo Turner – Independent Philip David Wright – Liberal Democrats Ian Levitt-Smillie – Conservative

North East

Labour also held the North East ward at the last election, but only by 74 votes.

Councillor Anita Cherryholme held the seat with 786 votes, but Independent candidate Raymond Archer missed out by just 74 votes.

Raymond will stand again this year, but will have to beat off former mayor Councillor Jeff Ennis, who is standing for Labour.

Here are the candidates:

Raymond Archer – Barnsley Independent Group Sam Christmas – Liberal Democrats Jeff Ennis – Labour Samuel Joe Wilkinson – Conservative

PICTURE: Greg Winnard