Nominations now open for Women of Sheffield awards

Nominations are now open for The Women of Sheffield Awards 2020 giving Star readers the chance to honour the city’s inspirational women who are making a difference.

Friday, 3rd January 2020, 12:21 pm
All the winners from the night. The Star Women of Sheffield 2019 Awards presentation. The Star launched the awards to celebrate females who have made a difference to others in the city. Picture: Chris Etchells

There are 12 award categories, all named after a well known local figure in their field, past or present.

Awards will be presented at a glittering event to be held on March 8, which is International Women's Day, at the Kenwood Hall Hotel, Sheffield, our event partner.

This is the second year of the awards, which were a great success last year, honouring a number of inspirational women working in the community, for charities, preparing our young people for the future , leading by example, building businesses and providing positive role models.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

The awards are the brainchild of Star Editor Nancy Fielder who said:" We want to acknowledge the important work that women do in so many fields - business, education, our community.

"Women make a great contribution to society - and they are often the unsung heroines who are the backbone of society.

"We want to recognise these women, whether they have a lifetime of work or service behind them or are just starting out on an exciting journey that is an inspiration to others."

The award categories are – The Elizabeth Parkin Award for Entrepreneurship ( sponsored by Gradconsult), The Dr Helen Sharman Award for Science, The Winifred Gales Award for Politics, The Barbara Wragg Award for Charity, The Dorrett Buckley Greaves MBE Award for Community, The Kathleen Roberts Award for Grit (sponsored by Future Life Wealth Management), Pam Liversidge OBE Award for Engineering, The Jessica Ennis-Hill Award for Sport, The Marti Caine Award for Entertainment, The Mary Ann Rawson Award for Education (sponsored by Sheffield High School for Girls) and The Sarah Nulty Award for Creativity.

Winners last year included the first female Professor of Emergency Medicine in the UK, Suzanne Mason.

To nominate somebody send her name, category and reasons why she deserves to win of no more than 250 words to [email protected] Don’t be afraid to nominate yourself.

To become an award sponsor email [email protected]