Nottingham Forest 1 Rotherham 0: 1,300 Millers fans disappointed after latest road loss

Rotherham suffered more heartbreak on the road as they went down to a late 1-0 defeat at Nottingham Forest.

Saturday, 22nd September 2018, 5:11 pm
Updated Saturday, 22nd September 2018, 5:17 pm
Nottingham Forest v Rotherham United

The Millers were on course to register their first away point of the season, but former striker Lewis Grabban struck an 86th-minute penalty to give Forest a win they barely deserved.

It means Paul Warne's side have now gone 30 games without an away win in the Championship and have drawn just three of those.

And it extends a dreadful record at the City Ground, where they have not enjoyed a victory since 1955, as the Millers drop to 19th.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Rotherham travelled down the M1 with a gameplan and frustrated Forest in the first half.

Ben Osborn saw a shot deflected wide for a corner, while Grabban and Gil Dias both had shots charged down, after taking a punt from the edge of the box.

The hosts steppted it up after the break and almist took the lead but Joao Carvalho saw his effort hit the outside of the post from Saidy Janko's cross.

Dias then forced Marek Rodak into a smart save with a low shot as the Millers had to weather a strong storm.

Forest were lucky to keep 11 men on the pitch when Adlene Guedioura somehow avoided a second yellow card before the Millers had their best chance of the game when Richie Towell saw his srtike at the near post superbly saved by Costel Pantilimon.

The decisive moment came four minutes from time as Robert Jones had no hesitation in pointing to the spot when Ben Osborn was tripped by Ryan Williams, with Grabban coolly slotting the spot-kick home to pile more misery on the travelling Millers.

Nottingham Forest: Pantilimon, Janko, Hefele, Fox, Robinson, Guedioura (Lolley 60), Watson, Dias (Cash 72), Carvalho (Bridcutt 90), Osborn, Grabban

Unused subs: Steele, Goncalves, Dawson, Darikwa

Rotherham: Rodak, Jones, Ajayi, Wood, Mattock, Williams, Vaulks, Towell (Taylor 88), Manning (Palmer 72), Vassell, Proctor (Smith 46)

Unused subs: Price, Vyner, Forde, Wiles

Referee: Robert Jones

Attendance: 27,479 (1,291 from Rotherham)