No place for Sheffield Wednesday goalkeeper Keiren Westwood in Republic of Ireland squad

Keiren Westwood has not played for the Owls' this seasonKeiren Westwood has not played for the Owls' this season
Keiren Westwood has not played for the Owls' this season
Keiren Westwood has been left out of the Republic of Ireland squad for their double-header against Wales and Poland.

The goalkeeper, who has lost the Owls number one jersey to Cameron Dawson, was not included in Republic manager Martin O'Neill's final 26-man party on Monday.

O'Neill has selected goalkeepers Colin Doyle, Sean McDermott and Darren Randolph in his squad.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Westwood has been frozen out at Hillsborough, with Wednesday chief Jos Luhukay putting his faith in academy graduates Dawson and Joe Wildsmith. Dawson has started the Owls' six Championship fixtures while Wildsmith has played in the Carabao Cup. 

Westwood, out of contract next summer, has not featured since pre-season.

As well as Westwood, O'Neill has also not included Cardiff City midfielder Harry Arter ahead of the Republic's Nations League clash with Wales in Cardiff this Thursday. 

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

James McCarthy (leg), Robbie Brady (ankle), Scott Hogan (groin), Sean Maguire (hamstring) and Shane Long (foot) are ruled out but uncapped Kristiansund BK keeper Sean McDermott and Preston striker Callum Robinson remain in the squad.

After the trip to Wales, the Republic face Poland in a friendly on September 11.


Goalkeepers: Colin Doyle (Hearts), Sean McDermott (Kristiansund BK), Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough)

Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Cyrus Christie (Fulham), Matt Doherty (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Richard Keogh (Derby County), Ciaran Clark (Newcastle United), Kevin Long, Stephen Ward (Burnley), John Egan, Enda Stevens (Sheffield United)

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Midfielders: Alan Judge (Brentford), Jeff Hendrick (Burnley), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Shaun Williams (Millwall), David Meyler (Reading), Daryl Horgan (Hibernian), Callum O'Dowda (Bristol City), James McClean (Stoke City)

Forwards: Jonathan Walters (Ipswich Town*), Graham Burke, Callum Robinson (Preston North End), Aiden O'Brien (Millwall)

*Indicates player is on loan