New Sheffield council cabinet line-up

Share this article
Have your say

THREE new faces - and a new deputy leader - have joined Sheffield Council’s top team.

Ruling Labour leader Coun Julie Dore has announced Coun Harry Harpham will be her number two, while retaining his cabinet post for housing.

Outgoing deputy leader Coun Bryan Lodge, who has stood down to give more time to his family and business, remains cabinet member for finance.

A new business, skills and development cabinet post is taken on by Coun Leigh Bramall, who is replaced in his old environment job by new face Coun Jack Scott.

Coun Isobel Bowler becomes cabinet member for culture, sports and leisure, replacing Coun Helen Mirfin-Boukoris.

Coun Mazher Iqbal becomes cabinet member for communities, taking over from Coun Mick Rooney.

Coun Jackie Drayton remains cabinet member for children, young people and families, and Coun Mary Lea for health, care and independent living.

There is one extra cabinet post, for business, funded by axing some minor posts.

Meanwhile, Coun Shaffaq Mohammed has been re-elected leader of the opposition Lib Dem group on the council. They will announce a shadow cabinet later this week.