Names given to watchdog over sex abuse scandal

Have your say

Police chiefs in South Yorkshire have referred 14 members of staff to the police watchdog over the force’s handling of child sexual exploitation.

The Independent Police Complaints Commission has been given the names of members of staff that bosses believe could have cases to answer.

They were referred for investigation in the wake of Professor Alexis Jay’s damning report into child sex abuse in Rotherham.

The report revealed 1,400 children were groomed and attacked over a 16-year period while those in authority turned a blind eye because of cultural sensitivities over the ethnicity of the offenders .

Rotherham Council leader Roger Stone, head of children’s service Joyce Thacker and crime commissioner Sean Wright quit after the report.