LISTEN: Full-time verdict - QPR 4 Rotherham United 2 plus Steve Evans reaction

Rotherham United
Rotherham United
Have your say

Rotherham United suffered in the sun as they lost out at QPR in the Championship.

They fell to a 4-2 defeat, conceding just before half-time - just as they had at Nottingham Forest a week earlier - at Loftus Road and then shipping three more goals after the break.

Tjaronn Chery scored twice and there was a two-goal haul for Charlie Austin. His hopeful 20-yarder went straight through Millers goalkeeper Kelle Roos and then he added a penalty in the 89th minutes moments after the Millers had threatened to make things interesting by pulling the score back to 3-2.

Rotherham had done well for much of the first half, and Matt Derbyshire spurned a glorious chance to put the visitors in front when he steered Jonson Clarke-Harris's left-wing cross wide in the 28th minute.

Chery buried a harder opportunity three minutes before the break, bending the ball round Roos, and his second after 50 minutes, followed by Austin's strike 13 minutes later, killed the game.

Clarke-Harris, after earlier missing an easy header from Joe Newell's cross, pulled a goal for the Millers in the 73rd minute, cutting inside and curling a fine effort past QPR shot-stopper Rob Green, and substitute Tim Thorpe prodded in from close range with two minutes to go.

Before the visitors could entertain any hopes of an equaliser, Lee Frecklington was ajudged to have fouled Sebastian Polter in the penalty area and Austin did the rest from the spot.

It looked a soft decision by referee Dean Whitestone and Rotherham boss Steve Evans was fuming afterwards.

Defeat leaves the Millers without a league win in their opening four matches.

Evans had made three changes from the side which started the midweek draw against Preston North End, bringing in Clarke-Harris, Grant Ward and Emmanuel Ledesma, with Jordan Bowery and Maguire dropping out along with the injured Joe Mattock.

QPR (4-5-1): Green; Perch, Onuoha, Hall, Konchesky; Phillips, Henry, Luongo (Polter 82), Faurlin (Doughty 77), Chery (Kpekawa 90+1); Austin. Subs not used: Smithies, Hill, Hoilett, Emmanuel-Thomas.

Rotherham United (4-4-2): Roos; Buxton, Halford, Collins, Newell; G Ward (Maguire 78), Frecklington, Smallwood (Thorpe H-T), Ledesma (White 68); Derbyshire, Clarke-Harris. Subs not used: Collin, D Ward, Green, Rawson.

Referee: Dean Whitestone (Northamptonshire).

Attendance: 15,009 (743).