Eurovision Song Contest 2018: running order, favourites and everything else you need to know

With the finals of this year's Eurovision Song Contest just hours away, here's what you need to know about the weird and wonderful musical celebration.

Saturday, 12th May 2018, 10:46 am
Updated Saturday, 12th May 2018, 10:51 am
26 countries are set to vie for Eurovision glory tonight (pic: Thomas Hanses)


Graham Norton will present live coverage of this year's final from Lisbon, Portugal, on BBC One from 8pm.

SuRie will represent the UK at Eurovision 2018, performing Storm (pic: Leigh Kelly)

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Coverage is scheduled to last for three hours and 35 minutes, with 26 countries vying for glory.

Read More

Read More
Police officer pelted with power tools after patrol car is rammed in Sheffield


Cyprus are hot favourites to triumph this year, with bookmakers listing them as short as evens.

Cyprus are the bookmakers' favourites to win Eurovision 2018. They are represented by Eleni Foureira, singing Feugo (pic: CYBC/Panik Records)

Israel could run them close, with odds as low as 5/2 for them to take the honours.


Singer-songwriter SuRie is flying the flag for the United Kingdom.

Israel - for whom Netta will perform TOY - are second favourites for Eurovision 2018 (pic: Daniel Kaminsky)

She will be performing Storm, written by Gil Lewis, Nicole Blair and Sean Hargreaves.

"It's got a really beautiful concept... a kind of light tunnel that I can move in and out of, supporting the story and enhancing the beats of the song," she said.

"It creates a really strong atmosphere on stage, letting the music - the melody and the lyrics - do their thing."

Ireland have made the Eurovision finals for the first time since 2013. Ryan O'Shaughnessy, singing Together, is the third favourite with bookmakers (pic: RT/Brigita Stankaityt)

It is 21 years since the UK last won the Eurovision Song Contest and nine years since it finished inside the top 10.

SuRie is a rank outsider to reverse that trend, with odds on a UK victory ranging from 100/1 to 350/1.


China have been banned from screening this year's final after one of its TV stations censored LGBT elements of Tuesday's semi-final, including Ireland's song Together, which included two male dancers depicting the end of a relationship.

Russia will be absent tonight after making a shock exit during Thursday's semi-final. It is the first time the country has failed to make the final since the current system was introduced.

Also missing will be Azerbaijan, who failed to qualify for the first time since their debut in 2008

Ireland, represented by Ryan O'Shaughnessy, are back in the final for the first time since 2013. They will be hoping to add to their record-equalling seven Eurovision wins.


According to the official Eurovision website, the order is as follows:

01. Ukraine

02. Spain

03. Slovenia

04. Lithuania

05. Austria

06. Estonia

07. Norway

08. Portugal

09. United Kingdom

10. Serbia

11. Germany

12. Albania

13. France

14. Czech Republic

15. Denmark

16. Australia

17. Finland

18. Bulgaria

19. Moldova

20. Sweden

21. Hungary

22. Israel

23. The Netherlands

24. Ireland

25. Cyprus

26. Italy