ELECTION: Full lists of Sheffield GE candidates are revealed

editorial image
Have your say

Nick Clegg will fight seven other candidates for votes in the general election, the full lists of nominations have revealed.

Candidates for the general elections have been published tonight by Sheffield Council, later than expected with an influx of nominations shortly before the deadline of 4pm.

Nationwide it was expected the total number standing would outstrip the record of 4,150 from 2010.

Sheffield Hallam, defended by Mr Clegg for the Liberal Democrats, is expected to be one of the closely-watched seats on May 7.

Other Hallam candidates include Steven Clegg - English Democrats, Oliver Coppard - Labour, Peter Garbutt - Green, Joe Jenkins - Ukip, Carlton Reeve - independent, Jim Stop The Fiasco Wild - independent and Ian Walker - Conservative.

The constituency with the most candidates is Sheffield Central, with ten. They are Steve Andrew - Communist Party, Paul Blomfield - Labour, Elizabeth Breed - English Democrats, Thom Brown -Above and Beyond Party, Dominic Cook - Ukip, Jillian Creasy - Green, Michael Driver - Workers Revolutionary Party, Andy Halsall -Pirate Party, Joe Otten - Liberal Democrats and Stephanie Roe - Conservative.

In Sheffield South East candidates include Jen Battersby - Cannabis is Safer than Alcohol, Clive Betts - Labour, Linda Duckenfield - Green, Matthew Roberts -English Democrats, Matt Sleat - Conservative, Gail Smith - Liberal Democrats, Ian Whitehouse - Trade Union and Socialist Coalition and Steven Winstone - Ukip.

In Sheffield Heeley the seven candidates are Stephen Castens - Conservative, Simon Clement-Jones - Liberal Democrats, Howard Denby -Ukip, Louise Haigh - Labour, David Haslett -English Democrats, Alan Munro - TUSC, and Rita Wilcock - Green.

In Brightside and Hillsborough candidates are John Booker - Ukip, Maxine Bowler - TUSC, Elise Dunweber - Conservative, Christine Gilligan Kubo - Green, Harry Harpham - Labour, Jonathan Harston - Liberal Democrat and Justin Saxton - English Democrats.

Just five candidates stand in Penistone and Stocksbridge, Rosalyn Gordon - Liberal Democrats, Steven Jackson - Conservative, Colin Porter- English Democrats, Angela Smith - Labour and Graeme Waddicar - Ukip.