Students celebrate achievements at a Sheffield sixth form college

The ESOL Award at Longley Park Sixth Form College's annual awards evening
The ESOL Award at Longley Park Sixth Form College's annual awards evening
Have your say

More than 90 people collected prizes at a glittering awards ceremony at Longley Park Sixth Form College.

The annual awards at the college in Longley, Sheffield, celebrated the achievements of its students.

David Blunkett at Longley Park Sixth Form College awards evening

David Blunkett at Longley Park Sixth Form College awards evening

Awards were presented by guests of honour David Blunkett, former Hillsborough and Brightside MP, and Coun Harry Harpham.

There were also musical performances by students Jack Tibble and Jordanna Pahrsingh. Jack performed his original song, Flitter, produced by the Longley Park record label Polar Records.

The 28 winners of the College Colours Awards were nominated by college teachers for their hard work and achievements.

Individual awards were presented to students for their outstanding achievements.

Wala Ali won the Sheffield Hallam Academic Achievement Award. Wala joined the college unable to speak English and has now secured a place at university to study as a nurse.

Sport student Osama Abas won the CERTA Best Progress Award.

The Chaucer School Childcare Award was won by Sophie Dickinson who has achieved a grade A in all her assignments across both years of study.

The Community Award was awarded to Amy Drury, who has organised lots of fundraising events to raise money for Sheffield Children’s Hospital.

The David Blunkett Citizenship Award was won by student ambassador Jodie Beck and the Ecclesfield School Creative Arts Award was awarded to Bradley Ludlam.

The ESOL Award was won by the whole full-time class in recognition of their progress and the supportive and productive learning environment they have created.

The Fir Vale School Award for Business and Enterprise was given to Leona Muyombwe who joined the college after recently arriving in the UK from Zimbabwe.

The Firth Park Academy Performing Arts Award was won by Jack Tibble for his outstanding contributions to liaison work and the college record label.

Governors’ Team of the Year was awarded to English students Joshua Eckersley, Anthony Guest, Rosie Hadfield, Aschtar Beg, Nicole Kunda, Waheeb Abdulaleem and Huda Dhalai.

The students volunteered to take part in a speaking and listening task when an external examiner visited the college.

The Hinde House School Science Award was won by Lana Mohammed, Joshua Saxton was given the Health and Social Care Award and Mazen Al-Namari scooped the Maths Award.

The Nottingham Trent University Academic Excellence Award was given to Zishan Siddiqi and the Parkwood Academy Sports and PE Award was won by Karl Green.

The Principal’s Award for Media Production was awarded to Shakeel Jabbaar, while Cosin Mubeto was given the Recognition Award for Student Representation.

The Student Award, nominated by fellow students, was won by Alexandria Sprules, who supports her friends and others when they find work difficult.

Other winners included Daniel Parry, Olivia Rudge Abdirahman Hassan, Ammaarah Nazir Jamie Hoyle, Fatima Al-Salafi, Michael Clark, Elham Al-Matari, Kerry O’Brien and Nicholas Chappell.