Doncaster Election Results: Labour sweeps past 50-seat mark

Election 2012: Richard Cooper-Holmes wins the seat for Rossington, Doncaster.
Election 2012: Richard Cooper-Holmes wins the seat for Rossington, Doncaster.
Have your say

the Liberal Democrats took a hammering in the Doncaster Council elections as Labour swept past the 50-seat mark.

Bessacarr and Cantley is now the Lib Dems’ only stronghold in the borough as voters disillusioned with the party showed their feelings - and half of the six sitting councillors lost their seats.

Labour gained six more seats - three from the Lib Dems and three from the Independent councillors.

For full story, reaction and more see The Star tomorrow.


Adwick: FARRELL Dave, Liberal Democrats, 358; KITCHEN, Ted, Labour, 2058 elected; WOOD, Kerry Nigel, Conservative, 286. Turnout 25.30%.

Armthorpe: ALLEN, Chris, Conservative, 226; MCGUINNESS, Sue, Labour, 1677 elected; PICKLES, Scott Andrew, Independent, 1289. Turnout 29.15%

Askern Spa: GREENHALGH, Martin Damian, Conservative, 954; WHITE, Austen, Labour, 2269 elected. Turnout 33.29%.

Balby: EATON, Richard, Conservative, 435; FENNELLY, Nuala, Labour, 1436 elected; SIMPSON, Edwin, Liberal Democrats,135; THOMPSON, Mark, Independent, 1136. Turnout 28.32%

Bentley: ALLEN, Alexandra Laura, Conservative, 282; HEWITT, Barbara, English Democrats - “Putting England First!”, 681; NIGHTINGALE, Jane, Labour, 1750 elected. Turnout: 27.43%

Bessacarr and Cantley: BISSETT, Paul, Labour, 1230; BLUFF Glenn Karl, English Democrats - “Putting England First!”, 535; CUTHBERT Monty, Liberal Democrat, 1764 elected; WELLS ,Mark David, Conservative, 623. Turnout 36.76%.

Central: BELL, Barbara Jean, Liberal Democrats, 226; DOVE, Howard English Democrats - “Putting England First!”, 533; HUTCHINSON, Ian Paul, Conservative, 297; JONES, Glyn, Labour, 1957 elected. Turnout: 25.99%.

Conisbrough and Denaby Ward: BROUGHTON, Jonathan Sherwin, Conservative, 352; MILLS, Christine Anne, Labour, 2420 elected. Turnout: 26.79%.

Edenthorpe, Kirk Sandall and Barnby Dun Ward: FLETCHER, Barbara, Conservative, 518; GOODMAN, Karl, Independent, 437; HALL, Pat, Labour, 1409 elected; HAMPSON, Karen, Liberal Democrats, 579; HEWITT, Keith John, English Democrats - “Putting England First!”, 731. Turnout: 34.58%.

Edlington and Warmsworth: COLE, Phil, Labour, 1830 elected; JONES, Liz, Conservative, 261; MULLIS, Ray, Independent, 1356. Turnout: 33.24%.

Finningley: BERRY, Nigel, English Democrats - “Putting England First!”, 1163; BROWN, John Liberal Democrats, 270; SCOTT-CHAMBERS, Thomas, Labour, 1237; WOODCOCK, Yvonne, Conservative, 1803 elected; Turnout: 37.28%.

Great North Road: BUTTERFIELD, John Victor Liberal Democrats, 227; CALLADINE, Frank Lloyd, Conservative, 643; HUTCHINSON, Debbie, Labour, 2378 elected; PLATT, Stephen, The Green Party, 575. Turnout: 32.75%.

Hatfield: CREDLAND, Jessie Jamieson, Independent, 791; GLYNN, Mick, English Democrats - “Putting England First!”, 827; HAITH, Pat, Labour, 1049 elected; HART, James Vincent, Conservative, 343; RAYNER, Stewart, The Community Group, 176. Turnout: 37.70%.

Mexborough: CALLADINE, Phyllis, Conservative, 98; JEVONS, Malcolm, Liberal Democrats, 472; LEYLAND-JEPSON, Tracey, Labour, 1577 elected; PICKERING, Andrew Richard, Independent, 687. Turnout: 24.62%.

Rossington: BEARD, Kathleen Margaret, Conservative, 240; COOPER-HOLMES, Richard, Labour, 1581 elected; JOHNSON, Richard Alan, Liberal Democrats,108; WILDE, Terry, Independent, 880. Turnout: 28.46%.

Sprotbrough Ward: MILLAR, Peter, Labour, 1565; SIMPSON, Diana; Liberal Democrats, 312; WOOD, Jonathan, Conservative, 1637 elected. Turnout: 37.92%

Stainforth and Moorends: DRAKE, Martin Edward, Conservative, 436; KEEGAN, Ken, Labour, 1627 elected; OWEN, Dave, Democratic Nationalists, 410. Turnout: 25.36%.

Thorne: DURANT, Susan, Labour, 1176; WALKER, Richard, Conservative, 467; WILLIAMS, Martin, Community, 1442 elected. Turnout: 28.80%.

Torne Valley: ADGAR, David, Liberal Democrats, 339; FORD, Bob, Conservative, 1563 elected; MCALEAVEY, Shane, Labour, 1112; WALTERS, Rebecca UK Independence Party, 643. Turnout: 37.08%.

Town Moor Ward: COX, Stephen Leslie, Conservative, 432; GOODMAN, Michelle, Independent, 373; HAMPSON, Cliff, Liberal Democrats, 831; WRAY, Paul, Labour, 1569 elected. Turnout, 31.44%.

Wheatley Ward: HUGHES, Eva, Labour, 1696 elected; KNIGHT, Malcolm Andrew, Conservative, 351; PENKETH, Roy John English Democrats - “Putting England First!”, 806. Turnout: 29.05%.

SHEFFIELD ELECTION RESULTS: Sheffield’s ex Council leader Paul Scriven loses his seat plus full round up ofr all wards - CLICK HERE.

ELECTED MAYOR: Sheffield rejects plans but Doncaster says yes.

ROTHERHAM ELECTION RESULTS 2012: Labour wipes out BNP and retains control - for full report and results CLICK HERE.

BARNSLEY ELECTION RESULTS 2012: Labour gains nine seats and tightens its control, including shock win in Tory Penistone - CLICK HERE.