Candidates in running for seat at council by-election

Have your say

Names of candidates have been released for a council by-election caused in the seat vacated by South Yorkshire Police and Crime Commissioner Shaun Wright.

The election, for Rawmarsh ward on Rotherham Council, will be on Thursday, May 16.

Candidates are George Baldwin, BNP; Andrew Gray, Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts; Mohammed Meharban, Liberal Democrat; Martyn Parker, Conservatives; Caven Vines, UKIP; Lisa Wright, Labour.

Mrs Wright is the wife of the Police and Crime Commissioner.

The latest date to apply to register to vote at this election or to apply to vote by post is April 30.

Visit or call 01709 823356 for information about registering to vote.