Candidates confirmed in South Yorkshire by-election

The candidates for two South Yorkshire by-elections have been confirmed.

Thursday, 12th January 2017, 3:42 pm
Updated Thursday, 12th January 2017, 3:46 pm
By-elections for two Rotherham councillors will be held on February 2.

New councillors are needed in both the Dinnington and Brinsworth and Catcliffe wards of Rotherham Council.

In Dinnington eight candidates will stand to replace Ukip's Ian Finnie, who resigned due to a change in circumstances.

They are David Foulstone (Green), Jean Hart (independent), Lee Hunter (Ukip), Christopher Middleton (Con), Scott Steven (independent), Dave Smith (independent), Stephen Thornley (Lib Dem), and John Vjestica (Lab).

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

There are five people contesting the Brinsworth and Catcliffe ward, where Labour's Andrew Roddison resigned after his conviction for sexual assault.

They are Shabana Ahmed (Lab), Adam Carter (Lib Dem), John Oliver (Con), Steve Webster (Ukip) and Bex Whyman (Green).

Voters will go to the polls on February 2.

Today’s top stories: