A-ha, Neil Diamond and Edith Piaf on Ed Miliband’s Desert Island Discs list

MP Ed Miliband
MP Ed Miliband
Have your say

Labour leader and Doncaster North MP Ed Miliband has revealed his favourite songs - for long-running radio show Desert Island Discs.

The eclectic list includes the South African national anthem and songs by 80s band A-ha, legendary singer Neil Diamond as well as older artists such as Paul Robeson and Edith Piaf.

Presenter Kirsty Young said people were sometimes sceptical about politicians’ choices on Desert Island Discs - and asked how many people had cast their eye over his list.

Mr Miliband replied: “It’s absolutely my list. It’s a list that is personal to me - some people will not like some of the songs and that’s as it should be - but this is a list I chose.”

The Labour leader’s other selections included Angels by Robbie Williams and Hubert Parry’s Jerusalem.

His desert island luxury was a regular chicken tikka curry takeaway and his book was Douglas Adams’ The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.

Mr Miliband’s full list

South African national anthem [Nkosi Sikelel’ iAfrika]

Hubert Parry - Jerusalem

Paul Robeson - Ballad of Joe Hill

A-ha - Take On Me

Neil Diamond - Sweet Caroline

Robbie Williams - Angels

Josh Ritter - Change of Time

Edith Piaf - Je Ne Regrette Rien