Manic Street Preachers unveil new album Futurology and release video

editorial image
Share this article
Have your say

Manic Street Preachers have announced details of their hotly-anticipated new album, Futurology, as well as unveiling the video for new single ‘Walk Me To The Bridge’.

Revealing the artwork (pictured), the Welsh rockers went on to describe Futurology, due for release on 7 July, as ‘furious, propulsive and expansive’.

The album features a number of special guests, including Green Gartside (Scritti Politti), Welsh Music Prize 2013 winner Georgia Ruth, Cian Ciarán (Super Furry Animals) and German film star Nina Hoss.

They continued: “Futurology is the sound of the Manics at their very best - a record inspired by permanent revolution, modern art and Autobahns.”

The Futurology tracklisting is:


‘Walk Me To The Bridge’

‘Let’s Go To War’

‘The Next Jet To Leave Moscow’

‘Europa Geht Durch Mich’

‘Divine Youth’

‘Sex, Power Love and Money’

‘Dreaming A City (Hughesovka)’

‘Black Square’

‘Between The Clock And The Bed’

‘Misguided Missile’

‘The View From Stow Hill’


The band also posted a hand-written note to their fans on Facebook.

The stunning new video for single ‘Walk Me To The Bridge’ was directed by Kieran Evans - the BAFTA-winning director of Kelly + Victor who also produced the band’s videos from 2013’s Rewind The Film. The clip sees the band playing in a futuristic warehouse while an existential treasure hunt takes place for one troubled German lady on the streets of Berlin.

Meanwhile, the Manics are confirmed for a number of European festivals this summer, including Glastonbury and V Festival.