Business award winners crowned

Sky presenter Charlie Webster and the Star editor James Mitchinson
Sky presenter Charlie Webster and the Star editor James Mitchinson
Have your say

And the winners are…

Congratulations and celebrations all round – the Sheffield Business Award winners have been crowned.

More than 800 business people attended the prestigious event at Ponds Forge International Sports Centre, to see them lift their trophies.

Businesses and individuals from across the city region made it on to the shortlist for the event sponsored by Elevation Recruitment and organised by Sheffield Chamber of Commerce in partnership with The Star.

Pryor Marking Technology won the Wake Smith LLP Excellence in Manufacturing Award and the Outstanding Business of the Year Award which is open to finalists in the other 14 categories.

This year, Chamber president David Thurkettle also announced Special Recognition Awards.

They went to Gary Verity who, along with Welcome to Yorkshire and partners, brought the Tour de France to the region and solicitors Wosskow Brown which has raised more than £25,000 for charity this year.

The winners:

Learning Unlimited Young Business Person of the Year: Rafters Restaurant

The Sheffield College Skills, Development & Apprenticeship Award: British Glass

The Fitness Unlimited Outstanding Achievements in Sports, Hospitality & Tourism Award: Owlerton Greyhound Stadium

The Lupton Fawcett Denison Till Next Big Thing Award: Braintrain 2020 Limited

The BDO Excellence in International Trade Award: S3 ID

The Robin Hood Airport Doncaster Sheffield Excellence in Customer Service Award: Westfield Health

The E.ON Environmental Award: EMSc (UK) Ltd

The Rare Creative Group Ltd Digital Communications Award: Rocket Science Solutions Ltd (trading as Rckt)

The Sheffield Hallam University Design & Innovation Award: Swellaway Limited

The Wake Smith LLP Excellence in Manufacturing Award: Pryor Marking Technology

The Amey Community Investment Award: The Source Skills Academy

The Shorts Accountants Business Person of the Year Award: Jackie Neal, Managing Director of Abbey Forged Products Ltd

The Meadowhall Distinction in Retail Services Award: 3Squared

The REDBRIK Excellence in Professional Services Award: Azzure IT