125 Years Of The Star: Keep up with the latest news @SheffieldStar

Online: The Star uses Twitter to update readers on breaking news.''              PICTURE: DEAN ATKINS
Online: The Star uses Twitter to update readers on breaking news.'' PICTURE: DEAN ATKINS
0
Have your say

THE Star is celebrating 125-years of bringing you the latest news, sport, features and more in print - but now via the web, Twitter and Facebook.

We are not only a daily newspaper, but reporting live, 24-hours a day, via our website, Twitter and Facebook.

This week we take a look at how The Star works online to make breaking news instantly accessible and interactive with our readers, writes Ellen Beardmore.

THOUSANDS of football fans travelled to Wembley for a game like no other - and The Star was reporting live to thousands more who could not be there.

The crucial Sheffield United game at Wembley was just one of the exciting events reported with minute-by-minute updates and pictures from @SheffieldStar on Twitter.

Our reporters have also conducted polls, covered the Sheffield Council budget meeting and breaking news, such as the recent controlled explosion in Intake, using the social networking website.

By following @SheffieldStar on Twitter readers can keep up-to-date with all the latest headlines.

The Star’s stories are uploaded along with letters, reviews and features.

Readers can also have their say and contact The Star on Twitter - contributing to stories, helping to shape the news agenda and highlighting issues in their community.

More than 12,500 now follow @SheffieldStar

Some of them told The Star why on Twitter.

Felipe G Tweeted: “Having spent a wonderful time living in Sheffield, I follow The Star from Chile to be up-to-date with the news and The Blades!

Tina W Tweeted: “I wouldn’t know what’s going off in my own city if I didn’t catch up on Twitter.”

Nicky Boam Tweeted: “‏Why do I follow the Star on Twitter? Simple answer, it’s a great paper.”

And Mark Mann Tweeted: “I live in Brighton but I know more of what’s happening in Sheffield than my parents do and they live there.”

* Follow us on Twitter - there’s a growing list of all our titles, categories, news, sport and feature writers below.

WHY I TWEET - THE STAR EDITOR JEREMY CLIFFORD

The Star Editor Jeremy Clifford – @TheStarEditor – says: “Twitter is another way of connecting and interacting with our readers and those who don’t necessarily read The Star.

Readers can ask me any question they want on anything regarding The Star, so it gives them access to the editor that they previously haven’t had.

The Star is one of the biggest brands in South Yorkshire, people see us as a trusted source of information. It is our role to give them the information they want, when they want and in the format they want it.

Using Twitter is just one way we do that.”

HOW TWITTER WORKS:

HUNDREDS of millions of people Tweet.

The site gives users instant connections to celebrities, experts, cities and breaking news across the globe.

It puts them in touch with people in the same field, from the same place, or with the same interests, that otherwise they would never meet. Twitter concentrates on connecting strangers – rather than reuniting friends.

It works by letting people search for and follow others.

Once you are following a profile, like @SheffieldStar, updates from that profile appear on your homepage.

If they follow you, the same applies.

Status messages posted on Twitter are called Tweets and must be less than 140 characters long.

Tweets that you like and want to share – such as breaking news about Sheffield Wednesday’s latest score – can be ‘retweeted’ by you.

If you want to comment on a tweet, you can by simply replying to it.

To contact a profile and let the user know what you think just write @SheffieldStar, for example, in your Tweet.

It is also possible to send users a direct message only they can see.

To search for Tweets relating to a specific topic, like Doncaster, use a hashtag before the word – eg #Doncaster.

FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

The Star @sheffieldstar

The Star sport @thestarsport

The Star Greenun @stargreenun

The Star Sheffield United @thestarblades

The Star Sheffield Wednesday @thestarowls

The Star Tramlines festival @startramlines

NEWS TEAM:

The Star Editor Jeremy Clifford @TheStarEditor

Digital editor Graham Walker @GW1962

Digital reporter Nik Brear @nikbrear

Deputy news editor Jon Ball @jon_ball33

Doncaster news editor David Kessen @dkessen

Crime reporter Claire Lewis @newsgirl25

Court reporter Polly Rippon @Starcourtrep

Health reporter Ben Spencer @Ben_Spencer

Education reporter Mike Russell @mikerussell2

News reporter Ellen Beardmore @E_Beardmore

News reporter Molly Lynch @mollygracelynch

News reporter Richard Blackledge @rblackledge

Features editor Martin Smith @10msmith

Entertainment reporter David Dunn @TheStarEnts

Features writer Colin Drury @colin__drury

Features writer Jo Davison @jodavisonstar

Business Monthly editor David Walshh @starbizmonthly

SPORT:

The Star sports staff on Twitter include:

Sports editor Bob Westerdale @westerdale10

Sheffield United reporter James Shield @JamesShield1

Sports reporter Dom Howson @DomHowson

Sports reporter and Olympics expert Richard Fidler @richardfidler

Sports reporter Danny Hall @dannyhall04