WIN: New Wave and Chilled 80s hits CDs

Sheffield electro icons The Human League

Sheffield electro icons The Human League

Have your say

Sheffield’s electro pop bands dominated the music world in the 1980s and two new compilation CDs celebrate that - we have copies to be won.

Called 12”/80S NEW WAVE and 12”/80S CHILLED, they feature big, memorable hits of electro synthpop and dance music groups including The Human League, Heaven 17 and ABC.

Other 80s acts, such as Duran Duran and Blondie, also feature.

There are 36 tracks on each CD box set, available from Amazon and iTunes. We have two copies of each to be won below.

See the full track listings for each CD below.

Across two releases, these songs set the gold standard for what pop music should be. Thirty years on, they are still the standard that artists are compared with today.



Buy 12”/80s New Wave album - CLICK HERE.

Buy 12”/80s Chilled album - CLICK HERE.


Buy 12”/80s New Wave album - CLICK HERE.

Buy 12”/80s Chilled album - CLICK HERE.


For your chance to win one of two copies, of each release, enter our competition by email or Twitter.

Email your details, with 1980s CD hits StarCompEIGHTIES in the subject field, to

Or follow Digital Editor Graham Walker on Twitter @GW1962 and tweet him with #StarCompEIGHTIES.

Deadline is Wednesday, November 19, 10am. Usual SNL rules and data terms, see below.

TRACKLISTING: 12”/80s New Wave

CD 1

1. Simple Minds Sweat In Bullet - Remix 0:07:22

2. Spandau Ballet The Freeze - Special Mix 0:06:30

3. Duran Duran Planet Earth - Night Version 0:06:11

4. Ultravo All Stood Still - 12” Version 0:05:05

5. Talk Talk Talk Talk - Extended Mix 0:04:33

6. Visage Visage - 12” Dance Mix 0:06:03

7. China Crisis Working With Fire And Steel - Fire And Steel Mix 0:05:00

8. Fashion Move On - 12” Version 0:06:45

9. OMD Telegraph - Extended 0:05:35

10. Altered Images I Could Be Happy - Martin Rushent Remix 0:05:39

11. Blancmange Blind Vision - 12” Version 0:09:35

12. Blondie Call Me - 12’’ Version; 2004 Digital Remaster 0:08:03

CD 2

1. The Human League Don’t You Want Me - Extended Dance Mix / 2012 Remaster 0:07:30

2. Japan European Son - Extended Remix 0:05:35

3. A Flock of Seagulls I Ran - Club Mix 0:05:08

4. Classic Nouveaux Is It A Dream - Extended Version 0:07:13

5. Heaven 17 Who’ll Stop The Rain - Extended Version 0:06:13

6. Yazoo The Other Side Of Love - Remixed Extended Version 0:05:22

7. Thompson Twins In The Name Of Love - 12” Dance Extension 0:05:39

8. Thomas Dolby She Blinded Me With Science 0:05:08

9. Culture Club White Boy - Extended Mix 0:06:44

10. Tears For Fear The Way You Are - Extended 0:07:37

11. Soft Cell Where The Heart Is - 12” Version 0:09:45

12. The Cure Close To Me - 12” Mix 0:06:32

CD 3

1. Grace Jones She’s Lost Control - Long Version 0:08:23

2. UB40 The Earth Dies Screaming 0:08:19

3. The Specials Ghost Town - Extended Version 0:05:59

4. New Order Temptation - 12” Version 0:08:41

5. The Fun Boy Three The Telephone Always Rings - 12” Extended Mix 0:05:35

6. The Beat Twist and Crawl - Extended 0:05:00

7. The Fixx One Thing Leads To Another - Extended Version 0:08:00

8. The Blue Nile Stay - Remix 0:05:01

9. When In Rome The Promise - Coliseum Club Mix 0:06:26

10. Aztec Camera All I Need Is Everything - Remix 0:05:51

11. Echo & The Bunnymen Silver - Tidal Wave 0:05:12

12”/80s Chilled – Tracklisting


1. Simple Minds Glittering Prize - Club Mix / 2012 Remaster 0:04:57

2. Duran Duran Save A Prayer - 2001 Digital Remaster 0:05:26

3. Heaven 17 Let Me Go - 12’’ Extended Version / 2006 Remaster 0:06:13

4. Soft Cell Tainted Dub / Where Did Our Love Go? 0:09:12

5. China Crisis Christian - Extended Mix 0:05:44

6. Tears For Fears Shout - US Dub Version 0:06:49

7. OMD Extended Souvenir - 2003 Digital Remaster 0:04:14

8. Japan I Second That Emotion 0:05:14

9. Culture Club Do You Really Want To Hurt Me - Dub Version 0:03:41

10. Kajagoogoo Too Shy - Midnight Mix 0:05:26

11. A-Ha Hunting High And Low - Extended Remix 0:06:03

12. Blondie Rapture - Special Disco Mix/2001 Remaster 0:10:00


1. Thompson Twins Hold Me Now - Extended Version 0:09:47

2. Sylvian & Sakamoto Forbidden Colours - Version 0:05:53

3. Howard Jones Hide and Seek - Long Version 0:08:35

4. Fiction Factory Feels Like Heaven - 12” Version 0:05:52

5. Nik Kershaw Wouldn’t It Be Good - Extended 12” Mix 0:06:41

6. The Art Of Noise Love Beat 0:05:15

7. Hall & Oates Out Of Touch - Dub Version 0:07:24

8. FGTH Rage Hard - Young Person’s Guide Into The 12” Mix Version 0:12:06

9. The Blue Nile Tinseltown In The Rain - 2012 Remaster 0:05:53

10. Matt Bianco Half A Minute - Extended Version 0:04:44

11. Level 42 Love Games - Full Length Version 0:07:19


1. The Human League Human - Extended Version 0:05:00

2. The Dream Academy Life In A Northern Town - Extended Mix 0:05:19

3. It’s Immaterial Driving Away From Home (Wicked Weather For Walking) 0:07:01

4. New Order The Perfect Kiss - 12” Version 0:08:49

5. Malcolm McLaren Madam Butterfly - On The Fly Mix 0:10:16

6. Chris Re Josephine - La Version Francaise 0:05:41

7. ABC Poison Arrow - Jazz Remix 0:06:55

8. Crowded House Don’t Dream It’s Over - Extended Version 0:06:10

9. Johnny Hates Jazz Shattered Dreams - 12” Extended Mix/2008 Digital Remaster 0:05:12

10. Swing Out Sister Surrender - Stuff Gun Mix 0:06:42

11. Bryan Ferry Slave To Love - 12” Remix 0:05:48

12. The Cure Lovesong - Extended Mix 0:06:15


These apply to all competitions in SNL titles and online, unless otherwise stated or as amended in association with specific promotions. Usual SNL rules apply - copies or requests, to SNL Promotions Manager, The Star, York Street, Sheffield. The Editor’s decision is final. No cash alternatives available. No correspondence will be entered into. Transport not included, unless specified. The winner(s), who must agree to publicity, will be the first correct entry drawn at random after deadline, or as indicated. A parent or guardian must enter or endorse entries on behalf of children aged under 18. A responsible adult must accompany any child winner or guest. SNL is not liable for failure to attend or for cancellations of any event. No photocopied entry forms or tokens allowed. Where applicable, unless otherwise stated, one web entry form, token or other web entry per person only. Individual entry forms and tokens by detailed request, with a stamped self addressed envelope, to the competition address. No purchase necessary. Failure to agree to terms and conditions makes winning entries void. Winners will usually be notified within 10 working days after deadline, or as specified.

This is a Johnston Press Group competition. For full Johnston Press t&cs go to


By Supplying your contact details, including email address and mobile number, you agree that Johnston Press plc, publishers of The Star and Sheffield Telegraph, plus it’s business partners may contact you about new promotions, products and service by mail, email, phone, fax, SMS/MMS. Please add NOINFO at the end of your message if you do not wish to receive these.

For quality and training purposes we may monitor communications. Full terms and conditions at

Back to the top of the page