VIDEO: International renowned string quartet to play at University of Sheffield

Have your say

The award-winning Sacconi Quartet come to Concerts at the University of Sheffield on Tuesday, April 14, 2015.

The quartet is recognised throughout the world for its creativity and as a compelling ensemble, who consistently communicate a fresh and imaginative approach to music.

Sacconi quartet. Picture by Emilie Bailey

Sacconi quartet. Picture by Emilie Bailey

Formed in 2001, Robin Ashewell, Cara Berridge, Hannah Dawson and Ben Hacox, continue to demonstrate a shared passion for string quartet repertoire, infectiously reaching out to international audiences with their energy and enthusiasm. They’ve enjoyed a highly successful career, performing regularly throughout Europe, at London’s major venues, in recordings and on radio broadcasts.

Continuing Concerts at the University of Sheffield’s Nordic theme, the Sacconi Quartet showcase the works of two giants of Nordic music born 150 years ago: Carl Nielsen (Denmark) and Jean Sibelius (Finland). Conjuring up images of icy landscapes and glittering snowfields, this spellbinding programme features works from either end of Sibelius’s vast compositional output, including the profoundly intense and atmospheric ‘Intimate Voices’, and, one of Carl Nielsen’s most popular chamber music works, the masterful ‘String Quartet in G minor’.

The show starts at 7:30pm at Firth Hall at the University of Sheffield. Western Bank, Sheffield S10 2TN

Tickets are priced at £10, £7 (staff/over 65), £4 (students/under 26)

For tickets visit: or call the Box Office on: 0114 223 3777

For more information about the Sacconi Quartet visit

For more great events at the University of Sheffield visit