Spring treats at Sheffield theatres

Dinosaur Zoo is coming to the Lyceum.
Dinosaur Zoo is coming to the Lyceum.
0
Have your say

Toe tapping musicals, magical performances for children and a West End drama are all coming to a stage in Sheffield next year.

Sheffield Theatres has announced its spring programme for which theatre lovers can now purchase tickets.

Jason Donovan is starring in The King's Speech

Jason Donovan is starring in The King's Speech

The hills of the city will be alive with The Sound of Music from Monday, February 2, to Saturday, February 14, when Bill Kenwright’s new production takes to the Lyceum stage.

The lavish production will feature some of the most memorable songs ever performed.

Musicals fans will also be thrilled later in the year when Rodgers and Hammerstein’s Pulitzer prize-winning show Oklahoma! rolls in from Tuesday, July 21, to Saturday, August 1.

Families will be entertained by Dinosaur Zoo, which roars into town from Saturday, February 28, to Sunday, March 1. It is a chance for youngsters to get up close to extraordinary life-like dinosaurs.

Don Giovanni - English Touring Opera

Don Giovanni - English Touring Opera

Disney fans can dress up and sing along to the hugely popular Frozen, when it visits Sheffield on Sunday, April 4.

Comedy visits the Crucible, in the guise of Sheffield’s very own singer and organist John Shuttleworth, who returns to perform some of his unique tunes in his new show, A Wee Ken to Remember on Tuesday, February 24.

The laughter will continue days later when comedian and political activist Mark Thomas brings his award-winning Edinburgh festival show Cuckooed on Thursday, February 26.

Sheffield based Croft House Theatre Company return to the Lyceum with the fabulous feel-good musical comedy Sister Act, based on the 1992 film starring Whoopi Goldberg, from Tuesday, March 10, to Saturday, March 14.

The Seige of Calais

The Seige of Calais

Opera lovers will enjoy the return of English Touring Opera, who will be performing a new production of Puccini’s heartbreaking La Bohème on Monday, March 30, and Donizetti’s rarely seen The Seige of Calais on Tuesday, March 31.

The King’s Speech, the West End show that inspired the Oscar–winning film, visits the Lyceum from Monday, April 13, to Saturday, April 18. Starring Jason Donovan as maverick speech therapist Lionel Logue, The King’s Speech is the powerful story of King George VI’s journey to overcome his stammer, as he prepares to address the nation while Great Britain stands on the brink of the Second World War.

For details on tickets call the box office on 0114 249 6000 or visit www.sheffieldtheatres.co.uk