Speedway: Sheffield 26 Somerset 47

Have your say

Sheffield Tigers final Premier League outing of the season was cut short by torrential rain last night - but the result stands.

The Owlerton side were outclassed by the title chasing Somerset Rebels who had superior strength in every department.

Rain only started to arrive at 7pm, just 45 minutes before start time, but it caused significant damage to the track before it stopped briefly early on.

When several riders got into difficulty on their own the decision was taken to undertake extensive track work but the rain returned and the riders persevered until heat 12 - when both sets of management and their riders agreed to call it a day.

The visitors are by far the stronger side and needed a draw to go top of the Premier League table, and they never let the Tigers get a sniff of a result after a brilliant start to the meeting.

They raced into an 11 point lead after just four races, and although Sheffield then managed to share the next two races the Rebels continued their dominance with a spate of heat advantages.

They were far sharper from the start and with the horrendous conditions making it virtually impossible to pass the battle was won by the second turn, and that’s where the visitors were so strong.

It wasn’t until the final heat that the home side recorded a heat advantage but that didn’t prevent Somerset from handing the Tigers their heaviest home defeat of the season on their last competitive fixture of the year.

Facundo Albin impressed with his effort and scored nine, and the ever-reliable Ricky Wells was Sheffield’s only heat winner and notched seven points.

Andre Compton struggled hugely with the abnormal conditions and only managed two points, guest Richie Worrall worked hard for his six while Danny Maassen scored one and Max Clegg was scoreless from his three rides.

* SHEFFIELD: Facundo Albin 9, Ricky Wells 7, Richie Worrall 6, Andre Compton 2, Danny Maassen 1, Max Clegg 0, Adam Roynon R/R.

* SOMERSET: Nick Morris 9, Charles Wright 9, Jason Doyle 7+1, Alex Davies 7, Josh Grajczonek 6+1, Kyle Newman 5, Oliver Greenwood 4+1.