Speedway: Injury-ravaged Sheffield Tigers grab superb win over Redcar

Hugh Skidmore leads Olly Allen and Richard Lawson in Heat 1
Hugh Skidmore leads Olly Allen and Richard Lawson in Heat 1
Have your say

Patched-up Sheffield defied their injury crisis to claim a stunning 40-38 victory over Redcar at Owlerton.

With Simon Stead, Leigh Lanham, Andre Compton and Josh Bates all ruled out, the injury-hit Tigers entered the clash with just three of their own riders.

However, they displayed character and determination in abundance to edge a last heat decider and emerge victorious in a nervy clash.

Another fine showing from Taylor Poole at reserve led Joe Screen’s men to a memorable victory. Poole accounted for three of the Tigers’ five race winners, top scoring with a typically determined display.

He joined forces with Liam Carr for a 5-1 in heat two to give the hosts an early lead before splitting Redcar pair Hugh Skidmore and Jan Graversen to stop the visitors from striking a second consecutive maximum in heat eight.

After storming to a further race win, he recovered from a slow start in heat 11 to round Skidmore on the final bend and convert a composed win Nico Covatti into a 4-2 which pulled them level.

A third race victory followed to give Sheffield the lead entering the closing stages after their fourth consecutive heat advantage.

A heavy crash featuring Liam Carr in heat 14 caused a delay before a spectator was taken ill causing the meeting to be abandoned.

Despite an abrupt end to the night, the result stood.

Whilst Poole was the star of the show, he received solid support from several areas from his patched up side. Olly Allen notched a superb nine points whilst Nico Covatti also put in an encouraging display.

Skipper Simon Stead remains a doubt for the return trip to Teeside tonight as he recovers from tonsillitis while young reserve Josh Bates hopes to make his comeback.

SHEFFIELD 40: Taylor Poole 14, Olly Allen 9, Kevin Wolbert 6, Nico Covatti 5+2, Ben Wilson 3+2, Liam Carr 3+1, Andre Compton R/R

REDCAR 38: Mark Lemon 10, Richard Lawson 9, Hugh Skidmore 7, Aaron Summers 6, Jan Graversen 3, Carl Wilkinson 2+1, Rafal Konopka 1