Main flatter to deceive in defeat

Have your say

MATT Holmes won 21-8 for Yorkshire Main, but finished on the losing side as Christine Cox (21-8) and Eric Senior (21-6) featured for Mexborough in their 179-157 Doncaster Bowls Association Saturday League Premier Section clash.

Barry Tomlinson (21-8), Dave Clarke (21-2) and Jack Richardson (21-9) all won well for Thorpe Marsh-Bentley in their 182-153 victory over Carcroft.

Club secretary Ian Wilson (21-9) was Rossington’s match-winner in their 186-174 victory over Roundwood.

Adam Jones (21-3), Sarah Fox (21-3), Pete Charnley (21-4) and Dave Patrickson senior (21-5) were all comfortable winners for Woodlands Park in their 201-117 success over Westfield Park.

Graham Garnett (21-3), Brian Line (21-7) and Frank Potts (21-8) laid the foundations of Westfield Park’s 187-157 win over Yorkshire Main. Keith Haydon (21-8) was the pick of Brodsworth’s winners in their 207-156 Section B success over Hexthorpe.

Bawtry carded a 205-146 victory over Adwick. Roundwood only had four of the ten winners, but good performances from Richard Rawlin (21-8), Rodger Mortimer (21-3) and Ken Waddington (21-8) ensured they beat Denaby 184-158.

Stewart Green (21-6), John Humphrey (21-2) and Trev Roper (21-5) got Eden Grove-PeglerB off to a flying start, with only Irene Burton (21-5) providing any resistance for Carcroft B in their 168-146 Section C home defeat.

Keith Frost (21-9) and Archie Oldham (21-4) shone for Maltby Main in their 178-164 win with last man Keith Hall gaining a consolation 21-6 win for Wickersley.

Walter Roden gave Roundwood C a good start with a 21-3 win, but Pilkingtons Rec B won seven of the nine remaining games, Thomas Shillito winning 21-7, to claim a 184-165 success..

John Richards’ 21-8 win was not quite good enough for Yorkshire Main B as Eamon Costello (21-5) and Ken Ramsay (21-9) won well to give Parklands a 167-162 success.

Joan Wright (21-7) gave Rossington B an early lead, but they were gradually pegged back with last man Maurice Mortlock (21-9) to help Adwick B claim a 185-161 Section D win.

Ken Strutt (21-7), Ray Wyatt and Brian James (both 21-2) and Matthew Griffiths (21-4) all won easily for Bentley Colliery in their 178-140 victory over Brodsworth, for whom Kevin Dixon won 21-9. Mick Jackson won 21-8 early in the match for Hexthorpe B, before John Hobson (21-2) and Graeme Kendall (21-7) turned the game (178-157) in Harvesters’ favour. Gordon Metcalfe (21-5) was one of only two winners for Pilks Pensioners, with Malcolm Tetley winning by the same score for Parklands B, who won 184-144.