Hallas brothers’ doubles title

Have your say

FOR the third time in eight years, the defending Doncaster BA doubles champions were defeated in the final of the following year’s competition.

Maltby Bowling Club duo Darren Stevenson and Ross Meese were beaten by brothers Simon and Daniel Hallas (Armthorpe Welfare).

It looked like being a disaster for the Maltby pair as the Hallas siblings took a 17-0 lead playing well on a difficult mark on the edge of the green.

However, Stevenson and Meese stopped the rot in the best way possible, scoring a four, but although they also won the next end their hopes of a sustained comeback were dashed as a three and a one saw the Armthorpe pair home.

They are only the seventh pairing from the Armthorpe club to win the competition in its 74 year history.

Quarter-final results: Tom Boyd jnr/Andy Jones 9 Darren Stevenson/ Ross Meese 21; Steve Shannon/Dave Rogers 21 Tom Boyd snr/Malcolm Fox 10; Rose Greaves/ Brian Greaves 13 Simon Hallas/Daniel Hallas 21; Steve Barker/Jonathan Sneddon 15 Phil Stones/Ryan Lysons 21.

Semi-finals: Stevenson/Meese 21 Shannon/Rogers 17; Hallas/ Hallas 21 Stones/Lysons 11.

Final: Stevenson/Meese 5 Hallas/Hallas 21.

Westfield Park reached the second round of the Bufton Cup with an 84-39 win over Carcroft B.

Leah Rogers and Andy Pinder (21-3) and Graham Garnett and Bob Crowe (21-9) both performed well for Park.

Yorkshire Main never looked back when beating Hexthorpe 79-53 after Terry Mosley and Phil Rees (21-0) had given them a flying start.

Dave Gibson and Tony Rumney (21-5) were the pick for Pilkington Recreation as they romped to an 84-43 win against Westfield Park B.

Adwick B cleared the first round hurdle with a 75-69 win over Parklands B.

Eric Wright and Dave Clarke (21-7) were best for Thorpe Marsh Bentley in their 84-47 win over Pilks Rec C.

A trio of 21-4 winners in Barry Binks, Ted Owens and Keith Bullock allowed Bawtry (rec 24) to see off Westfield Park (rec 31) in the Brooke Farm Handicap first round.

Keith Wright (21-2), Eric Bubb (21-5) and Bob Sisman (21-9) helped steer Westfield Park B (rec 62) through with Conan Ingram’s 21-9 win for Harvesters (rec 57) counting for nothing in their 199-176 defeat.

Sarah Fox (21-4), John Richardson (21-4), Dave Dinnie (21-5) and Shawn Laycock (21-8) won easily for Woodlands Park B (rec 19) in their 186-134 victory over Bawtry B (rec 55).

Kev Richardson (21-4) and Dave Gibson (21-9) both shone for Pilks Rec (rec 17) in their 184-173 win over Carcroft B (rec 59).

Ron Mortlock’s 21-4 win proved vital for Thorpe Marsh Bentley (rec 31) in their 194-174 victory over Pilks Rec C (rec 58)