Sheffield Wednesday: Owls release eight players

editorial image
Have your say

Wednesday today announced the release of eight players whose contracts run out this summer.

They are Jermaine and Reda Johnson, David Prutton, Anthony Gardner, Miguel Llera, Martin Taylor, Adam Davies and Arron Jameson.

But talks are to be held with the representatives of Chris Kirkland, Jose Semedo, Glenn Loovens and Oguchi Onyewu.

The Owls also said that loan players Damian Martinez, Sam Hutchinson, Benik Afobe, Leon Best and Andelko Savic have returned to their clubs.

Head coach Stuart Gray said: “These decisions are never easy but they are part and parcel of football.

“There is no slight on the players I will be letting go, because they are great professionals who have always gone about their business in the right and thoroughly professional manner.

“But every manager in the country has his own ideas over how he wants his squad to look moving forward and I am no different.

“I am sure the released players will have no problem whatsoever in gaining new clubs. I would like to thank them all for their support and service to Sheffield Wednesday and wish them the very best of luck for the future.”