Head coach Carlos Carvalhal slammed referee James Linington following his “big mistake” in Wednesday’s 2-0 defeat at Derby County.
Carvalhal was left fuming after Linington failed to award a penalty after Derby captain Richard Keogh clearly blocked Adam Reach’s goalbound shot on the line with his arm.
Wednesday felt aggrieved by the deicision and goals either side of half-time from Cyrus Christie and Alex Pearce compounded their frustration.
Carvalhal, who was without the services of Keiren Westwood (back) for the second match running, said: “In my opinion, it’s the worst decision in the Championship so far. I have seen nothing like it this season.
“It was a big mistake and a crucial decision. I have never seen a situation like that before in 15 months in charge.
“I’m sure 99 per cent of the people in the stadium saw a clear penalty. The ref had a good view of the situation. He was 10 yards away and took a different decision.
“It’s so clear, I don’t understand it. I have nothing against the ref, nothing against the person but the decision was very, very poor and it had a big impact on the game.”
Carvalhal was spoken to by Linington following the incident but the Portuguese chief argued he did nothing wrong.
“In that moment I was emotional but I didn’t say any bad words, and I didn’t do anything wrong in my opinion,” he said.
“In the end, we are frustrated about that decision but I’m not frustrated with the players.
“We never gave up and always tried to score and create chances. We had more of the ball.”