Football: England trio miss out on Brazil places

Brazil World Cup 2014
Brazil World Cup 2014
Have your say

Michael Carrick, Andy Carroll and Kyle Walker have been left out of the 23-man England World Cup squad named by Roy Hodgson for Brazil on Monday this afternoon.

Carrick has paid the price for a poor season with Manchester United while West Ham striker Carroll has been named on the standby list after a season ravaged by injury.

Tottenham defender Walker, a graduate of Sheffield United’s youth system, misses out due to a pelvic injury.

Ross Barkley, who enjoyed a productive loan spell at Sheffield Wednesday during the 2012/13 campaign, has been included. Sheffield-born defender Gary Cahill and Phil Jagielka, who began his career at Bramall Lane, appear destined to be England’s centre-half pairing.

As expected, teenage left-back Luke Shaw makes the cut ahead of Ashley Cole, who retired from international football last night after being told he had not made the squad.

Rickie Lambert, who has scored 14 goals this season, gets the nod ahead of Carroll.

Former Barnsley youngster John Stones, now at Everton, has been named on the stand-by list. Stones will be drafted into the main travelling party if Phil Jones doesn’t shake off a shoulder problem by the squad deadline of June 2.

Ex-Spurs striker Jermain Defoe, who now plays for Toronto FC, is also only good enough for a place on the standby list.

Carrick rejected the chance to be on the standby list for Euro 2012, but he has accepted the same position this time around. Carrick is joined in Hodgson’s contingency planning by Tom Cleverley, who has not made the 23 despite starting nine consecutive games under Hodgson at the start of the 2012-13 season.

Hodgson has selected just four strikers for the tournament in Brazil, which kicks off on June 12.

Wayne Rooney will be the leading striker, with Daniel Sturridge, Danny Welbeck and Lambert in support. Frank Lampard, 35, makes the cut, but otherwise there is a youthful look about England’s midfield selection.

England squad - Goalkeepers: Hart, Foster, Forster.

Defenders: Johnson, Jones, Cahill, Jagielka, Smalling, Baines, Shaw.

Midfielders: Gerrard, Wilshere, Sterling, Milner, Lampard, Henderson, Barkley, Lallana, Oxlade-Chamberlain.

Strikers: Rooney, Sturridge, Welbeck, Lambert.

Stand-by list: Ruddy, Flanagan, Stones, Carrick, Cleverley, Carroll Defoe.