FT Millers: Bradford City 0 Rotherham United 2

editorial image
Have your say

Rotherham United moved into the top three of League Two after late goals from Lee Frecklington and Kieran Agard sealed a 2-0 win at Bradford Cityse, writes Dom Howson.

Frecklington powered in a penalty with 10 minutes remaining, sending Jon McLaughlin the wrong way, after Michael Nelson was controversially penalised for handball.

Then in added on time, Kieran Agard grabbed his second goal in as many matches on the counter attack to wrap up the three points.

It was the Millers third win on the spin in league and means their destiny is now in their own hands. If they beat Plymouth Argyle and Aldershot Town in their final matches, Steve Evans men will go up automatically.

The Bantams, unbeaten in half-a-dozen matches, shaded the early skirmishes at the Coral Windows Stadium and James Hanson headed in a Gary Jones corner but the goal was disallowed for a push on Claude Davis, recalled at the heart of the defence by Rotherham manager Steve Evans after shaking off a dead leg.

Shorn of the services of 20-goal top-scorer Daniel Nardiello, who had failed to recover from a foot injury sustained in the victory over Fleetwood Town, Frecklington was given the nod to start in midfield.

Just after the half hour mark, Garry Thompson coolly tucked in Gary Jones pass but the strike was ruled out for offside.

Although Rotherham were under the cosh for the majority of the half, the visitors should have gone ahead when Alex Revell met Ben Pringle’s inviting cross only for his header to be superbly kept out by Jon McLaughlin.

Things started to boil over off the pitch and Steve Parkin, Bradford’s assistant manager, was sent to the stands for allegedly criticising the fourth official.

Michael O’Connor had to be taken off following a late challenge, prompting Evans to thrown on youngster Mitchell Rose.

It was a scrappy, cagey encounter in the second-half but Frecklington and Agard’s efforts ensured it was a great night for Rotherham.

Bradford City: McLaughlin; Darby, McArdle, Davies, Meredith; Thompson, Jones, Ravenhill, Reid; Hanson, Wells. Subs: Duke, Atkinson, McHugh,

Connell, Hines, Nelson, Doyle.

Rotherham United: Shearer; Mullins, Davis, Morgan, Skarz; Frecklington, Arnason, O’Connor (Rose 44) Pringle; Revell, Agard. Subs: Warrington, Tonge, Ainsworth, Odejayi, Rose, Ridehalgh.

Referee: Mark Haywood (Lancs).

Tell me what you think - follow and tweet me @domhowson or email dominick.howson@sheffieldnewspapers.co.uk.