Owls and Blades will test their mettle at Steels

0
Have your say

Stocksbridge Park Steels have planned three South Yorkshire derbies for pre-season, including clashes with both Sheffield clubs.

Wednesday make the trip to Bracken Moor on Wednesday July 20, and United travel to face Gary Marrow’s team on Tuesday, August 2. In between Rotherham United will also pay a visit on Tuesday July 26. Fellow Evo-Stik side Matlock Town have lined up a host of high-profile friendlies. Football League trio Bradford City (Friday, July 15), Chesterfield (Tuesday, July 19) and Derby County (Friday, July 22) will all head to Causeway Lane in the space of a week.

Worksop Town’s schedule, like that of Stocksbridge, will also take in visits of United and Wednesday, with Danny Wilson’s men making the trip to Sandy Lane on Tuesday, July 12, and Gary Megson’s troops travelling on Saturday July 16.

The Tigers also travel to Sheffield FC, on Monday July 18, whilst other away games include Staveley (Saturday, July 30), Gainsborough Trintiy (Saturday, August 6) and Lincoln United (Monday August 8).

Four of our region’s sides, Parkgate, Handsworth, Maltby Main and Staveley MW are involved in the Teversal FC pre-season tournament July 4-16 at the Nottinghamshire club’s ground.

The event brings together eight non-league clubs, with at least two games played by each club.

In the opening games, Handsworth face Staveley (Tuesday, July 5), Maltby play Belper (Wednesday, July 6) and Parkgate play Pinxton (Thursday, July 7).

Hallam are still finalising their pre-season fixtures.