VIDEO:The Star Football Awards winners 2014

Have your say

Tommy Docherty has been honoured with the Derek Dooley Lifetime Achievement Award at The Star’s Football Awards.

The Doc, as the 86-year-old is still affectionately known, played for several clubs, including Preston North End, and represented Scotland 25 times.

Tommy Docherty

Tommy Docherty

He went on to manage 13 clubs, most notably Manchester United but also Rotherham United in 1967-68.

Receiving his award he said: “I have some very happy memories of Rotherham United and I am very happy and grateful to have won this award.

Reflecting on his career he added: “I signed some great players and some absolute rubbish.

“I was very fortunate to play for my country 25 times.”

All six clubs in The Star’s circulation area where honoured at the awards, held at the DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel, Sheffield Road South.

There was a special welcome for Chesterfield football club who were able to continue their celebrations just 24 hours after clinching promotion from League Two.

The Spireites own Paul Cook was named Manager of the Year whilst Ollie Banks was The Star’s Young Player of the Year.

In his first full season Cook, who took over in October 2012, delivered promotion to Chesterfield and could cap that with the League Two title on Saturday.

He led them to Wembley in the JPT Final as well, along the way playing an excellent brand of passing football.

Banks, 21 and son of former Barnsley and Rotherham United midfielder Ian, was signed from FC United of Manchester last September and has adapted superbly.

The Star’s Team of the Year was Rotherham United, who have done well in their first season after promotion, topping 80 points in League One, third highest scorers in the Football League and reached the Play-offs.

Our Special Award went to Sheffield United, honouring their 125th anniversary, the brilliant day they organised to commemorate it and also their achievement in reaching the FA Cup semi-final, beating two Premier League clubs and two Championship clubs along the way.

There was a Blades double with Chris Morgan, now the club’s Under 21 coach, and former skipper of both United and Barnsley, being elevated to our Hall of Fame.

The respective Player of the Year awards at each club went to: Blades - Harry Maguire; Owls - Liam Palmer; Reds - Chris O’Grady; Rovers - Chris Brown; Millers - Lee Frecklington; Spireites - Gary Roberts.

Rotherham’s Kieran Agard won the Golden Boot as the region’s top scorer.