Match report: Chesterfield 7 Long Eaton United 0

Have your say

Chesterfield comfortably brushed aside NCEL Premier Long Eaton United in the third round of the Derbyshire Senior Cup at the Proact Stadium.

In a match that ranged from the ridiculous to the sublime, Armand Gnanduillet scored the pick of the goals with a thunderbolt for his hat-trick.

Jay O’Shea curled in the opener from the edge of the area with barely two minutes on the clock against the visitors placed five tiers below them in the football pyramid. Gnanduillet grabbed his first of the night when he was quick to respond to a bobbling ball around the penalty area to sweep the ball under the grasp of Joe McCormack.

A swift move released Tendayi Darikwa down the right, the makeshift full back advanced forward and his pinpoint cross found Gnanduillet who headed home from six yards for his second.

In a bizarre first half, the Spireites’ youth team keeper Cameron Mason replaced the injured McCormack in the visitors’ goal at 3-0. With no replacement keeper on the bench, the hosts generously offered Mason as an alternative. It remains to be seen whether the gesture merits any action from the Derbyshire FA.

Mason had barely settled into his role before he was picking the ball out of his net from Ollie Banks’ tidy finish after beating three defenders.

After a Gnanduillet miss normal service resumed moments later when the Ivorian turned on a sixpence and unleashed a shot from 35 yards into the top corner.

The Spireites weren’t done yet though and when O’Shea was brought down on the edge of the area Jamie Devitt curled in a precise free kick.

Chesterfield had to wait until 16 minutes into the second half to make it seven when Banks chipped in his second from a tight angle before a flurry of changes for the hosts.

Borrowash Victoria of the East Midlands County League Premier await in the quarters.

* Chesterfield: Chapman; Darikwa, Cooper, Brown, Smith; Ryan, Morsy (Hewitt 61); O’Shea (Johnson 65), Banks (Beesley 62), Devitt; Gnanduillet.

* Long Eaton: McCormack; Armstrong, Yeomans, Webster, Burton, Palmer, Hancock, Watkiss, Grantham (Baxter 74), Rickford (c), Corrigan.