Football: All set for The Star’s big football night

Have your say

Tonight’s the night we honour our winners at the annual Star Football Awards.

Management, players and officials from all our six local Football League clubs will be at the special occasion at the Double Tree by Hilton Sheffield Park.

There will be 13 awards in all and it is a great night enabling footballing personalities, both locally and from further afield, to mix and chat and generally have a good night.

The guest list this time will include two men who have managed their respective countries, former England manager Graham Taylor and Tommy Docherty who had a spell in charge of Scotland.

As usual we will have a Player of the Year from each of our clubs with the winner coming from a shortlist of three at each club.

Those nominated from each club are:

Sheffield United - Ryan Flynn, Harry Maguire and Jamie Murphy.

Sheffield Wednesday - Chris Kirkland, Chris Maguire and Liam Palmer.

Barnsley - Martin Cranie, Chris O’Grady and Peter Ramage.

Doncaster Rovers - Chris Brown, Paul Keegan and Richie Wellens

Rotherham United - Kieran Agard, Lee Frecklington and Ben Pringle

Chesterfield - Liam Cooper, Gary Roberts and Jimmy Ryan.

In addition, we will be naming the young man who has won our Young Player of the Year award.

The three in contention are Ollie Banks of Chesterfield, James Husband of Doncaster Rovers and Sheffield United’s Harry Maguire.

Other presentations will be our Special Award; the Golden Boot (awarded to the top goalscorer from all our region’s clubs); Manager of the Year and Team of the Year.

In addition, we will elevate a local footballing hero into our Hall of Fame and the final award is the Derek Dooley Lifetime Achievement award.

Local businesses are providing excellent support.