Capital One Cup: First round draw

Capital One Cup draw
Capital One Cup draw
Have your say

All six of our professional football clubs have today learned who they will face in the first round of the Capital One Cup.

The draw for the tournament, which Premier League champions Manchester City won last year, took place this morning.

Five of our clubs; Sheffield Wednesday, Sheffield United, Barnsley, Rotherham United and Chesterfield, have been handed home ties.

Wednesday, who were taken over by Azerbajani businessman Hafiz Mammadov, subject to Football League ratification, last week, will host League One outfit Notts County.

United, aiming for automatic promotion after finishing seventh during the 2013/14 campaign, face Mansfield at Bramall Lane.

Barnsley will lock horns with Crewe at Oakwell while Rotherham United, buoyed after securing back-to-back promotions, entertain League One newcomers Fleetwood Town. Rotherham reached the second stage of the competition last term, losing 3-0 to Aston Villa.

Chesterfield’s player of the year Gary Roberts will come face to face with Huddersfield Town, one of his old clubs, after Paul Cook’s men were paired with the Terriers.

Doncaster Rovers will travel to York City, who lost to Fleetwood in the semi-finals of the League Two play-offs.

Full first round draw:

Oldham Athletic v Middlesbrough

Shrewsbury Town v Blackpool

Sheffield Wednesday v Notts County

Tranmere Rovers v Nottingham Forest

Leeds United v Accrington Stanley

Bolton Wanderers v Bury

Rochdale v Preston North End

Rotherham United v Fleetwood Town

Carlisle United v Derby County

Port Vale v Hartlepool United

Morecambe v Bradford City

Barnsley v Crewe Alexandra

Chesterfield v Huddersfield Town

Blackburn Rovers v Scunthorpe United

Burton Albion v Wigan Athletic

York City v Doncaster Rovers

Sheffield United v Mansfield Town

Reading v Newport County

Bristol City v Oxford United

Brighton & Hove Albion v Cheltenham Town

Coventry City v Cardiff City

Luton Town v Swindon Town

Dagenham & Redbridge v Brentford

Charlton Athletic v Colchester United

Crawley Town v Ipswich Town

Wolverhampton Wanderers v Northampton Town

Yeovil Town v Gillingham

Milton Keynes Dons v AFC Wimbledon

Exeter City v AFC Bournemouth

Stevenage v Watford

Plymouth Argyle v Leyton Orient

Birmingham City v Cambridge Untied

Portsmouth v Peterborough United

Millwall v Wycombe Wanderers

Southend United v Walsall

The ties will be played during the week commencing August 11.

The Football League fixtures will be announced at 9am tomorrow. The new season kicks off on Saturday, August 9.