Widdup leads the way as Town continue their charge for title

Simon Widdup
Simon Widdup
Have your say

Doncaster Town moved up to second spot in the ECB Yorkshire Premier Cricket League thanks to a strong eight-point victory over Scarborough at Town Fields on Saturday.

The experienced Simon Widdup took four wickets, and Alex Gosney three, as Doncaster helped restrict Scarborough to just 116 runs – and it didn’t take Donny long to hit their target.

Scarborough’s Darren Harland with 22 and Kunwar Bansil with 21 were their top-scorers as Doncaster’s bowlers ripped through the order. Widdup ended the innings with 4-22, while Gosney took 3-20, junior Curtis Free 2-44 and Lewis Brown 1-24.

In reply, opening batsman Felix Odell was unbeaten on 49, Widdup scored 40 and Stuart Guy finished off the innings with 17 not out as Doncaster made light work of the target, and secured a win which sees them go ahead of York, who did not play.

Barnsley enjoyed a 22-run victory over Appleby Frodingham at Shaw Lane which sees them move up to fourth spot in the table.

Batting first, Barnsley totalled 204, with Zohaib Ahmad scoring 64, Jonathon Trower 45 and Steve Nuttall 24. Paul Hilton took 4-39 for Frodingham, but it wasn’t quite enough to secure the win.

In reply, Frodingham’s opener Duncan Heath proved difficult to remove and had scored 81 runs before he was caught by Ahmad off Wainman’s bowling. But after that they struggled to find any real consistency and Frodingham were all out for 182.

Youngster Nathan Firn was the pick of the Barnsley bowlers with 4-35, while Wainman took 3-38 and Ahmad 2-23.

Sheffield United lost out by seven wickets to Driffield Town and remain bottom of the table.

They were all out for 157 with Shabham Raheem their top scorer with just 30 runs. In reply, Driffield needed just 30 overs to hit a winning 158-3, with Jonny Whiteoak taking 2-36 for United.

There was no play in Rotherham Town’s match at Cleethorpes, while Sheffield Collegiate and the Yorkshire Academy didn’t play because of the Tour de France.