Mason inspires Fishlake to win over leaders Fairburn

Have your say

FISHLAKE’S revival continued in Pontefract and District Division One as they recorded their second successive win with a four-wicket victory over leaders Fairburn.

Paul Moores (3-14) and Ian Walker (3-43) limited Fairburn to 171-8 which Fishlake overhauled thanks to Josh Mason (56), Charlie Metcalfe (35no) and Peter Butterworth (33).

Sprotbrough’s Division Two promotion bid suffered a setback at Thurnscoe. Don Whitehurst (77no) steered Thurnscoe to a 10-wicket win after Aidan Morris (4-40) toppled Sprotbrough for 122.

Barnby Dun recorded their third straight league victory. Scott Walker (45) guided them to a four-wicket success after Jonathan Young (2-33) helped restrict Whitley Bridge to 136-6.

Hatfield Town bounced back from two league defeats by beating Yorkshire Main.

Wayne Silvester and Andy Cutts both hit 49 as Hatfield posted 144-7 and Jonathan Holmes claimed 4-29 as Main fell for 127 in reply.

Askern lost a low-scoring game against leaders Hooton Pagnell. Josh Gillies (3-37) and Gareth Williams (3-27) kept Hooton at 122-9 but Askern were all out for 91 (Chris Harrison 4-16, Charlie Kaye 3-17).

Kerry Bissell (31), Matthew Cockburn (29) and Robin Stewart (3-23) helped Thorne Colliery to a narrow win over Sykehouse in Division Three.

Richard Copley (3-24), Chris Marshall (29) and Jordan Edwards (23no) were best for Sykehouse who were bowled out for 113, chasing Thorne’s 124-9.

Division Four leaders Brodsworth Main maintained their 100 per cent record with their fifth successive league win. Paul Tagg struck 46 and Karl Buxton snapped up 4-6 as Brodsworth trounced Fishlake A by 150 runs.

Steve Denton hit 75 as Bullcroft Main piled up 210-7 against Ferrybridge Power Station who managed only 156-4 in reply.

Promoted Peglers continued their impressive start when Ashley Langdale (61no) and Phillip Langdale (5-38) led them to a six-wicket win against Bentley Colliery whose defeat was hard on Stuart Cutmore (57).

Division Five promotion chasers Barnby Dun A were indebted to Lee McMahon (40) and Carl Dykes (4-16) for a 75-run victory against Whitley Bridge A.