Leach’s 77 inspires Barnby Dun to Supplementary Cup triumph

Champions: Brodsworth Main skipper Richard Miller with his title winning winning team.Picture:  Steve Taylor.
Champions: Brodsworth Main skipper Richard Miller with his title winning winning team.Picture: Steve Taylor.
Have your say

BARNBY Dun lifted the Doncaster Infirmary Evening League Supplementary Cup at the second time of asking at Town Fields.

Yorkshire Main again won the toss and elected to bat. They started steadily with Scott Sykes and James Lugg putting on 35 for the opening stand before an unfortunate run out.

Sykes continued where he had left off last week and scored an excellent 73 before running himself out.

Kieron Lumley supported him with a solid 20 before off spinner Mark Nurse tied down the Yorkshire Main final assault with 3-7 off two overs, keeping their total to 124-7.

In reply, Ian Leach set about the Yorkshire Main bowling with purpose although he survived an early chance at mid-on.

Barnby lost two early wickets but Scott Rich (30no) steadied their nerves and, along with Leach, took them within sight of victory before Leach was out for 77. They finally passed the Main total with seven wickets and six overs to spare.

League chairman Tim Hawkins praised the high quality cricket played by both sides. “It was a credit to the League,”

Mr Hawkins also praised umpires Des Binns and Alan Marshall for their efforts on the day and in the pouring rain the week before.

Conisbrough beat Peglers by 25 runs in Division One. Batting first, Conisbrough made 164-3 with Paul Hemmingway (74 not out) and Liam Stainthorpe (37) leading the way.

Peglers were 139-5 in reply.

Jack Calver’s top score 40 included four mighty sixes with Matt Smethurst (29), Ashley Langdale (25) and Karl Peebles (24) also chipping in.

Rossington conceded their game at Hatfield Nomads.

Brodsworth, who had already won the Division Two title, won away at Barnby Dun by 16 runs. Batting first, Brodsworth made 149-6 with Burns (44 not out) and Simpson (39) supplying over half the runs. Ron Bullers took 2-23.

Ian Leach (43) Carl Dykes (33 not out) and Mark Wilkinson (20) were the pick of the home batsmen in their 133-6. Scott Hibbett bagged three of the wickets.

Adwick-le-Street (141-5) posted a 79-run win at Fenwick. Fenwick, for whom Steve Vicarage (21) top-scored, were all out for 62.

Hatfield Main collected an exciting four-run Division Three at Parklands

Andy Moores (62 not out), Andy Stuart (24) and Neil Purvis (21) were the mainstays of Main’s 138-6. Nigel Knowles grabbed 2-17

Cory Deere (73 not out) and, to a lesser extent, Graham Langford (19) led the Parklands’ reply of 134-7. Liam Green 2-12

Sykehouse romped to a nine-wicket win over Marr.

Marr’s 111 all out owed much to a knock of 47 by Ady Coates. Mick Smith took 2-10 in four overs

Phil Townsend (51 not out), Mick Smith (28 not out) and John Hill (26) shared out the runs in Sykehouse’s reply of 114-1.

Bentley registered a 20-run win at Straco Recruitment.

The highlight of Bentley’s 116-9 was a half-century by Brown.

Ed Wilburn (2-10) and Steve Ashcroft (2-11) shared four of the wickets to fall.

Ray Dunning (51 not out) led the Straco reply of 96-6. Grace helped himself to 3-13.